The creative adult is the child who survived

in #life7 years ago

When I was about four or five years, I had a favorite window and at that window existed a world that only l could comprehend for it was a world I created in that world I was lord and master who decided the fate of everything and everyone.

Because I wasn't a child that fancied playing with other kids alot I would go to that window and play alone I will talk to sticks has water and toys I never knew my aunty listened but later on the would mimic me by saying “ I know that you're wait but disappear as a way of testing me at one point my aunty made me dispose all my playthings to her I play too much that was more like one of the saddest day of my young life yet.
What they didn't understand was that I possessed a very active imagination and was making use of it. Where they saw ordinary sticks toys and things I saw human who had the ability to talk and move I also had super power and I could make water disappear. By age eleven I already had a little book where I wrote town stories and hope to publish, I saw the book a few months ago I laughed so hard I cried it was funny that I cried but then I realized that was rather amazing for am eleven years old.

Aside being possession of such an active imagination compared to my childhood I don't read much anymore I read anything and everything I could lay hands on I remember reading harlequin novels over and over until the pages fell off.

Whatever creativity I have left today it's a product of the child in me that survived, so don't ever try to lame your child to do not clip your child's wings. If a child like dancing encourage the child. If a child prefer to attend a dance class over biology let the child. We all can't be doctors, lawyer and engineer (top most prefer procession of Nigerian parent) and when you see your child constantly experimenting and messing up your make up kit don't get mad that child give us another Genevieve.

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58