RESILIENCE: A VIRTUE FOR THE STRONG, FOCUSED AND DETERMINED....

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was at work earlier today and I kept wondering what I could do on steemit because it's been a while I dropped a post. So I decided to drop something real,original and non-fictional, using myself as a case study.

As of the exact time I wrote this post, I'm a qualified and competent civil engineer, but it couldn't have been possible without that virtue, RESILIENCE. Becoming a civil engineer was a very hard and difficult feat, but because of a resilient, focused and determined spirit, I got there.

image

picture taken from roveconsultancy.co.uk

However, I'm a civil engineering graduate of Uniben, but before then, so many things transpired. Let me take you on a short journey about how it all went down.

In 2003, I was admitted into OAU, Ile-Ife to study agricultural engineering. I gladly took the opportunity and was very happy back then, without any awareness of what was awaiting in the future. To cut the long story short, I had some issues with the school after a 5-years stay there. It got so bad, I had to leave the school. This was the genesis of the resilient ability I had to display.

Furthermore, after the issues at Ile-Ife, every friend I knew became foes including my parents. I was quickly labelled a waste of money, time and effort by my parents, so I was told I was on my own. My dad practically disowned me. I tried my best to apologize to him and make him understand I was going to make amends, but this Ekiti man of a father never listened. The only thing my dad couldn't do was send me out of his life, though I got a high level of frustration from him.

Now, I was all alone. I had nobody to come to my rescue except me. Even if I decided to go back to school, I needed a sponsor, but my sponsor already disowned me. Back then, I cried, broke down,lost hope and all sort of things ran through my mind.

At this stage that I had nobody to come to my rescue, the only thing I had left to explore was the resilient spirit buried deep down somewhere inside me and I did explore it. When everyone deserted me, I put myself together and told myself, I can never be a waste. I engaged in all sorts of unimaginable odd jobs I could get around to raise something for myself.

image

picture taken from oasishumanrelations.org.uk

I gathered enough to help me get a JAMB form, prepared very hard for the exam and got the admission into Uniben after so much body breaking work, day and night. My efforts wouldn't have yielded anything good without a young woman named Oluwakemi Olukoya, I owe her a million times because she made the biggest turn around in my life possible.

My first 3years in Uniben was hell but because I could exercise a whole lot of resilience, I'm here today. I needed 5years to become an engineer but I spent over 10years to achieve that feat, though it took a lot of time, effort, money, focus, determination and resilience. I now work at a construction firm in Lagos.

Resilience is the ability to take your stand in the face of difficulties, adversities and contraints and achieve that ultimate goal at the end.

Resilience is standing tall when life seems like its going to come to an end in the next second.

Resilience is forging towards positivity and success even when everything around us dictates otherwise.

I'll say resilience and success are two directly proportional entities, the higher your resilience, the more chances of success you have.

Great destinies come with great challenges...
The only means of survival during times of challenges is being resilient, focused, bold and determined.

Before I drop my pen on this post, I'll like to show you how true my experience is. On my birthday this year, a friend that witnessed those hard times posted something on my facebook wall and I was almost in tears because he took me back memory lane, memories I don't like remembering.

![image](

So fellow steemians, success comes with a price, when paying that price, the world may seem like it will come to an end, all you need is to stay tough, bold, focused, determined and resilient. Always have the believe that every hard time and situation is just a phase, it'll pass.

Thank you for your audience...

Sort:  

The best thing Life can teach us is to believe in ourself. Everything is possible, if just this is present.
It's good that You found the power!

There was a tale for big emperor who wanted to have phrase that work both ways - when his mind is in the clouds, when he is self satisfied to bring him back to reality, and when he feels down to bring him back up. The phrase was "This will pass.".
There is nothing permanent on this world!

Wish You all Best!

Thanks for the reminder bro. I really needed this. what team are you in pls

Team airhawk project o

Wow!

I am motivated by this, thanks for sharing.

believing in yourself is the best

Whoooooooo. That was intense deep. Your story is quite the inspiring. Let me say one thing though, since you have already built up all that internal strength, the sky is your limit.

Bless up brother.

Dante is here, No Fear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55