A Sweetness in the Air

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I can feel it calling to me.
That feeling like nothing is wrong.
Beyond that even...
The feeling of complete happiness,
relaxed expansion into the succulent bosom of the present moment.
When will I surrender to it?
Oh, I know surrender is coming.
I’ve been working toward it my entire life.
Something knocks.
Is that it?
Something beckons.
Is it time?
Are we ready yet?

I wrote the above a couple days ago, when the ultra-dry desert air was starting to be pregnant with coming monsoon rain. It finally poured yesterday on this little spot here.

I say it that way, because with monsoon rains, you can sometimes hear the rain falling but not be getting wet! The rain falls in little pockets, with gusts of heavy wind. Sometimes you can see a swirl of a storm around a single house even! Though the houses are all on acreage, so that can be a considerable amount of space.

Today, after the rain, the air smelled sweet. I looked around for the flowers, but could find none. Goodbye scratchy, dry throat and flaking skin. Goodbye smoke filled air from weeks of wildfire. Hello sweet, succulent life.

Nothing's Wrong

It has been increasingly dawning on me these last few days that I have a tendency to look for what is not quite right, then focus on trying to make it right, rather than accepting any moment as "perfect." And yet really, my life is filled with nothing but moments that could be considered perfect, if I was willing to.

This is my practice these days, learning how to let complete happiness become my norm. If not now, when?

IMG_0992.JPG
(Photo taken this morning from the patio looking South)

Sort:  

the present moment got all the power! past and future is only illusion.

Yes, and especially when we say "yes" to the present moment! That's the real power.

It is real Power and Consciousness...

Your words pull me into the center of myself, gently, and kindly force me to ask myself the same questions... is it time? am I ready yet?

Nothing's Wrong
It has been increasingly dawning on me these last few days that I have a tendency to look for what is not quite right, then focus on trying to make it right, rather than accepting any moment as "perfect." And yet really, my life is filled with nothing but moments that could be considered perfect, if I was willing to.

This jewel is one I will be meditating on and carrying forward with me. Thank you @indigoocean <333

Bright Blessings

I'm so glad my reflections on my journey help you see more deeply into yours.

Beautiful words and photograph.
So it is the changing of the seasons where you are at. We are in summer here.

Yes, in a way. It is the beginning of our monsoon season.

We had our first dust storm in Phoenix the other day. Still hasn't rained yet though. Hopefully I get to experience a thunderstorm or two when I go home to visit South Carolina in a week.

I do believe it is a skill to know when you should swim against the flow of life versus letting it guide you down the stream. Both instances can be considered "perfect" as we all control our own perception. Enjoy your weekend!

I hope you get some rain!

Yes, that balance is key. For me, moving into "shape it to thy will" is a default, so my growing edge is satisfaction. But everyone needs balance, so the Rx depends on which pole someone has normalized.

You sound like Thich nhat hanh and some other Budish monk I read their books... Always mindful enough to notice and appreciate every little gift of nature around them...
You Budish right?

I'm sort of Buddhist. I've had Buddhist teachers for the last 12 years, but I also channel and ultimately follow my own Higher Self/ Inner Wisdom as "guru." There is definitely an aspect of what the Buddhists call mindfulness in learning to simply be with the sweetness of life without trying to mess with it.

rather than accepting any moment as "perfect."

Accepting every moment as they come is the best way for one to be happy in life. But at times rejecting some bad moments in life could bring to us the good ones.

The trick is to be able to choose something new without rejecting what is. So few people know how to do this, but it is the key to boundless creation.

In the words of the old folks........"We are about to get a good soaking"
🙌

I must say, you're a talented person. I love your use of words with the perfect blend of picture. Such a nice post @indigoocean, love it!

You're most welcome

You got a 29.14% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @indigoocean!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87