A Writing Place

in #life6 years ago

It's been a long time since I had a dedicated space in which to write... one that I actually used to write in. I had an office at my last house, which I used for all of 3 months. I always wrote either on the deck off the dining room (when warm enough out) or in the dining room.

Finally after a year of needing my wifi to go from the side of the house with the internet box to the opposite side where I was actually working, I gave up on that office entirely and called the service provider to come out and rewire so that the box would be at a more useful location.

I had appointed the office well enough. It even had a filing cabinet and faced South into a garden with dozens of rose bushes and an overhanging set of plum trees, with Redwoods right across the street. But I just never wanted to be in that room. It felt oppressive to me.

Here's a photo I just took of my new office:
desk.jpg

For some reason the denim blue in that rug comes out as black in the photo, and you probably can't tell that the wall with the window is about the same color as the chair, but I think the pic conveys the general feel of the space.

Why It Works This Time

The main difference I think is that I made this one more feminine. Instead of a high backed leather office chair with arms (which was ergonomically better for my neck and shoulders) I have this rose colored linen chair. Instead of a glass desk with a keyboard rack at a lower height, also ergonomically superior, I have a solid wood desk that's a writing desk, not a computer desk. And so on.

Eventually that bookshelf you see at the end of the room, which just arrived yesterday evening, will have stored items behind the door on the right and display items on the top and exposed left side. What few physical books I kept are on the shelves on the right side of the room, which were installed by a previous resident.

I love that the door to the bookcase slides instead of opening out. I'm designing my cottage for the new property these days and have decided to make closet and bathroom doors all slide. Why waste space for the sweep of a door that doesn't need to really secure anything, just create a visual barrier?

I've only had the desk a couple weeks, and the plants just this week, but so far I have been writing in this office each day, so I think this one is actually going to be my writing place.

The Power of Programming

That matters because I think the mind gets conditioned to shift into a certain mode when there is a dedicated space for an activity. That's one of the reasons I stopped writing or reading in bed. It was making my mind too active in the place I want to program myself for sleep. I no longer have insomnia, which plagued me in my youth, and I think a lot of it comes down to that one change.

I keep this basic idea in mind as I'm designing each room in my house, as well as the outdoor areas.

In the living room, I want to be conditioned for a relaxed state, but not hazy. So I've used mostly earth tones with splashes of color here and there. Also, I never take naps on the couch. I have a hammock outside for that, and also a chaise in what was supposed to be the dining area. I nap in either sometimes.

In the kitchen I want to be alert, so I've put two stools at the kitchen island's counter and put down no rugs in there. The experience is much more upright and hard surfaced.

The guest bedroom I'm in the process of turning into a multi-purpose oasis of relaxation. It is the one room that I'm planning to serve many purposes, because a visitor might want to treat it a something of a studio apartment.

There is a cool all natural materials rug, that has purple cotton woven in with leather and hemp. There is a daybed with a modern look to it. There are sheer curtains at the oversized windows and there will eventually be floor pillows around a low table, perhaps a round coffee table. That way when someone visits me they can spend as much time as they want in the privacy of their room, whether they are sleeping, eating, reading, etc. As an introvert, that's something I would appreciate when visiting someone. And as a host, just because a friend is visiting me, that doesn't make me feel like they should want to spend all their time with me.

Supporting the Writing Process

So this writing space of mine, what will it yield? What works will arise? Perhaps my fourth book? Or maybe just writing for Steemit, LOL. Whatever arises, I am confident that I have created the ideal environment for its emergence.

What is the space in which you tend to write like?

What is it about that space that supports your writing?

Do you have just one place, or do you tend to move around the house?

If you're on mobile doing your writing, I imagine you do it wherever you are when you happen to have the time to write. Or do you seek out the same place to write each time anyway?

What supports your writing process?

notepad-3297994_1280.jpg
(Photo source: Pixabay)

Resteems always appreciated!

Sort:  

Well the thing is, I came to steemit when I really was doing a very shitty job, it made me really looked like a bad content creator even when I wasn't. In a nutshell I had to always move to write my content which made me always felt distracted.
You got a sweet office there, United states, yes?

@josediccus I can never imagine you doing a shitty job writing. You are too awesome, wherever you write its working. Love Ya Much.~ Ren

Well it looked so, I only stopped the job about a month ago, the job made me do mistakes with how I construct my content as well, I'm glad I'm rid of it.
Well thanks so much for that though meant a lot

I am so glad to have discovered you and look forward to reading more of your writing. Clearly you've gotten your writing space into supportive mode now!

Yes, I'm in the US. Just moved to the high desert (meaning the mountain region of the desert) from having lived in coastal areas my whole life. I decided to get rid of all my furniture with the move, so am slowly recreating a household that fits this new place.

Certainly. 😂 I'm a poet though, I do prose sometimes as well, you've got a very beautiful and interesting blog yourself. Have fun with your new place

Lovely. Glad you found a warm and comfy spot. I agree about the programming.. no one should ever work in bed. I love writing in our bus in the garden with the fire on. It's so peaceful and away from.the chores of the house.

Thanks for sharing your writing place. Writing in a garden is awesome, isn't it? Nature really supports us in turning inward while feeling even more deeply connected with the life around us.

When I try to write by a fire though, my mind just won't focus. I don't know why, but I feel more like having a glass of wine and chatting with friends when I'm near a fireplace/pit. Fire is more social to me, I guess.

It is more social. Id say thpugh thats irrelevant when you are tryimg to keep warm in a bus mid winter!

This is why I love reading your posts.....it just oozes passion. I can tell you really love writing. It's like it come naturally to you versus some I see on here.

I do my best. Sometimes I really have to reach for the flow of it, because I'm just so immersed in experience that I don't want to translate anything into words. But when the flow is there, it is definitely my primary art form.

Looking at this space stirs my creative juices. I want to write all day, I think I will. Thanks for the inspiration @indigoocean.

Yay! Write away, and may every moment of it feel like you're riding on the wings of an angel.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IndigoOcean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 27.29% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @indigoocean!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 22.50% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Congratulations @indigoocean! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17