The Creative Power of Slow

in #life6 years ago

Today I drove from the San Francisco area to pretty near the Hoover Dam in NV. (Below is a pic from my current abode, looking out toward the reservoir the Dam creates.)

It was a very slow drive.

By that I don't mean I was driving slowly, though there were a few spots of stop and go traffic due to fools driving recklessly and getting into fender benders that slowed everyone down, resulting in older cars overheating and stalling, which further slowed everyone down. No, I drove with the traffic around me, which was mostly moving pretty quickly, as everyone headed out for the weekend.

But as I drove I became aware for the first time since retiring that I have total abundance when it comes to time. I could get to my airbnb here anytime I wanted to. No one was expecting me at any particular time.

I then realized that there is nothing in my future anyone is expecting me for. I mean, I do have responsibilities, but none of them come with a start time or due date.

The Scarcity Parallels

Have you ever realized how much you rush through life? Does it seem like there is always something you're trying to be ready for?

You don't want to be late for the appointment. You don't want to not finish the to do list for the day. You want to see if you can get ahead so you can take more time later. And on and on it goes.

I can speak for myself and say that I've lived most of my life with a sense of being rushed. As a child, by parents and teachers. As an adult, by me, and my ideas about what I should be doing with my time.

In and of itself, it's just manufactured stress, but there is so much more to it than that. You see, when you feel a scarcity of time, you program yourself for scarcity in general.

This tends to make you zig when you need to zag, to miss the cues, to let one opportunity after another pass you buy unnoticed. There just isn't enough space for anything unexpected in your life, and most people don't move through the day on the lookout for unexpected blessings.

Similarly, if you can train yourself to experience time in an abundant way, you will be attuning yourself to rendezvousing with opportunities to experience all kinds of abundance. Abundance of love, of money, of opportunities, of creative outlets, of all the things that make your life enjoyable.

Now you could pick any one of these things to open up and bring some spaciousness into, and it would bless you in the other realms too. But a lot of these things feel outside our control. But time?

Who is making your schedule? Once you left high school, didn't you become your own task master?

Though you may have built up a lot of obligations that create a tight schedule for you, you made it and you can remake it if you're sufficiently committed. So I'm suggesting right now that this would be a worthwhile commitment to make.

Slowing Down to Create More

All these different kinds of abundance give you the opportunity to create the life you want. When you have enough of everything.... not just enough, but an abundance of everything you value... you have all the inputs you need to enjoy the creation of whatever you want in life. Some things take longer to unfold than others, but when you're relating to time with a sense of spaciousness, what's the hurry? It's all so fun, why would you want to rush through it?

So as I was driving today, even though I knew I had as much as 11 hours of driving ahead of me, and though I'm still nursing an injured back, I let myself really relax into the present moment. I didn't have the radio on until the final hour of the drive. I just listened to the sound of the car, the road, the wind. I let my senses slow down, settling into Now.

Within "now" there is complete spaciousness. Time is both infinite and a single point at the same time. When we're rushing, we're really dwelling in the future. We're thinking about when something will be done, and trying to make sure it is "soon enough." We can only be present when we let go of our demands on time.

As we set time free, so too we set all of our creative power free. We have the ability to notice that opportunity for love, or money, or creative expression, or whatever it is we've been wanting more of in our life. We are able to let in what has been trying to come to us all along.

So I sit here now, in my 5th airbnb this Summer, relaxing into a new "now" in a new "here," thankfully this time with my dog at my side.

I've decided to never leave her with others for more than a few hours at a time again, so at my side she will be. I'm not going to go overseas for the Winter to start designing my eco-building project there as I'd planned, since it would have involved leaving her with others. I'm going to wait the remaining years of her life to move on to that phase of mine. No problem. What's the rush?

Sort:  

Another great post, @indigoocean. I love it when you get deep. Not too many do these days, much because of what you point out... always chasing the future in some way too fast to stop and smell the roses so to speak (or even literally :). One of the first lessons I learned leaving the states, even if I was still in the military, was how we Americans tended in those days to "live to work" vs. what I quickly saw and appreciated their "work to live" attitude. I was a bit like a kid in a candy factory of so many new mysteries and really paid attention to deeper life truths like that.

So true. So many people do live to work instead of working only so much as necessary to be able to enjoy things in life. It's something I'm always trying to learn from other cultures, to value the life of just savoring little things each moment.

When you consider the world we live in today living in the moment has turned into somewhat of a skill that needs to be learned and mastered over time. I constantly remind myself that nothing is more important than the present. This is especially true after having our 4 month old daughter. It's so easy to get caught up in tomorrow and before you know it you have failed to cherish what you were blessed with today.

So true. Having a child growing up under your care is probably one of the things that can spin people out the most, and also cause the most significant "missed it" experiences. You want to do so much for her, yet past a certain point, the more you do, the less you are simply present with her, which is the greatest gift you have to give her. Parents really have so many "growth opportunities" in life, and this is definitely one of those. Advanced stuff!

I agree with you that not rushing and not being constantly stressed in our daily activities can help us when keeping a more productive mindset.

If people really want to perceive all the possible options there are to get closer to their goals, being able to appreciate the present is probably the only thing that can really help them, rather than moving around like a robot without any sort of conscience.

Yes, people live so much of their lives off balance, and then can't give things to manifest easily for themselves because of it. If we can move from center, we are all much more wise than we realize.

Wonderful piece as usual ma.
It is said that slow and steady wins the race and that is a very true saying but that does not imply that one should be lazy.

Most times in life, we get stuck up with act ivies and most times these activities are in competition to be like the other person but like i said few days ago on my whatsapp status update

In the journey of destiny, we operate at different time zones, focus on your own time zone and improve daily on yourself

When my colleagues in the university graduated last year from school, I felt so bad but of recent I came to appreciate my inability to graduate last year, you may then ask why and I will give you reasons.
In my search online to look for finances

  • Learnt blogging on my own and started up https://gcnstories.blogspot.com but abandoned it when google refused to approve my application for AdSense earning.
  • I discovered steem platform
  • Learnt bitcoin trading
  • Started learning forex two months back but have being running a demo account, so yesterday i came in contact with a broker called FBs and i was told i can earn without depositing but need to make certain amount and do verification before i can withdraw. Then i tried it yesterday and came up with a profit of 107 dollars as seen in the image below but waiting to see how true they are in making payments.

So at times some slowness in our rush in life is very needed if we must make any progress in life.

I agree, and your example also points out that while we aren't doing what we thought we "should" be doing, we may instead be doing something leading to the greater blessing Spirit intends for us.

(I think you're right to be wary of that forex broker though. It is possible that it works to their benefit, because you only get paid for profits, but that means they are staking their own money in the live markets at some point. Otherwise there is nothing to pay you from. Did you go through any vetting for your ability to trade before they decided to make this investment/bet on you? Time will tell whether the time you're investing with them pays off, and at least you're learning more in the process.)

at least you're learning more in the process.)

That's the happy part of it. Just that yesterday I learnt some skills that will help me in the long even if they don't pay. My time there has increased my learning. Thanks for the reply but it seems you are into forex trading as well.

No, no forex for me. It's something I know about because I researched it years ago, but I'm focused on other ways of financial abundance that aren't so time consuming and tedious. Forex is just too much like work to me. But if one is looking for a "job" they can do for themselves, it's a good option for some people.

Good to know that you have ideas about businesses. Well forex is time consuming but better than many jobs here in my country. $100 is the salary of most people in Nigeria but some one of forex can make better than that.
So am just planning my days after graduation not to be tied down to a job that pays so low but my major challenge is just capital. Only hope things get better soon.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.22$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97