Sort:  

Thanks for this post! I totally agree with everything you wrote!
Of course, we are affected by what is happening around us. But in the end, the choice of how to react and what to feel, what to think is up to us.

Yes! That's where this realization leads. We then realize that we can either be knocked about by these inner currents, thinking they are being caused by something that makes them important and "real", or we can accept their randomness and start choosing. Thanks for your comment.

This is true, I experience it from time to time.

I think we all do. It's good when we notice that's what we're doing.

You are what you eat is a very common saying.

Well, you are what your experiences in life brings your way, too a good degree.
I find that mood swings, if those are the right words, occur from past events for sure.
Blaming what is presently happening in real time is in many instances just projection, one of the most common ways we defend our fragile self-esteem.

Projection is a really good word for us all to keep in mind. It's a very human tendency, but its pervasiveness doesn't mean it serves us well. To the contrary, it blocks us from the ability to let the present be different from the past.

I think about this all the time, @indigoocean I think it is true, 'we are our environment'....for the most part.

It's wonderful that you were able to observe the contrast and subtle changes in mood.

@audreybits I think you will enjoy this post

I think some environments amplify it enough that we can notice it. We're not distracted.Thanks for your comment.

I also heard from a podcast today while traveling that our DNA makes our bodies vulnerable to external reactions from temperatures to food that make us more volatile at times. Found it interesting as I have found that in between diets, I feel mood swings very often.

Yeah, I didn't want to get into that added dimension, but there is definitely also a biochemical component at play. And to a very great extent food is affecting our biochemistry, both when we first eat it and at various stages in the digestive process.

Insightful "random thoughts", for sure!

For myself I found that any thought dragging me to the past or future causes at least some stress, irrespective of the emotion linked to the thought. There is a reason why inner Peace starts unfolding in Silence, or in the absence of thought. When I really dedicate my attention to the practise of mental Silence for a few minutes to the point that the thoughtlessness feels effortless, I ALWAYS feel better and more relaxed with myself and anything, even when I had been in a very cheerful mood before starting the Silence. So from my experience any thought irrespective of the emotion linked to it increases the likelihood of mood swings. Any remedy? Simply accept it the way it is :)

You're reminding me of what my buddhist teacher used to say about "the art of pausing." Just letting the silence between thoughts expand a little to take up more space than it is normally given. Very gentle allowing, and letting that work its magic.

Yes, this practise is very powerful. But of course thinking cannot be fully eliminated, and surely not as Humans. So being prone to mood swings cannot be shut off 100%, but we can still decrease the likelihood and the intensity :)

Hi @indigoocean!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.722 which ranks you at #1488 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 45 places in the last three days (old rank 1533).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I agree completely! I've had similar experiences with meditation, but much less extreme.

Sometimes I don't think it's caused by something external, but that it's a problem in my mind. Then I cause more problems trying to change my thought process into something more positive, rather than letting the feeling be and letting it go. I've been working on this recently, on NOT TRYING, and letting my mind work things out naturally, which it usually will if you don't mess with it too much.

I've also found that my thinking was/is far too analytical and focused on thoughts rather than emotions - there is a bit of an overlap between the two, but I was fighting my own mind, not realizing that thoughts don't create all emotions; sometimes emotions come first and create thoughts.

I feel more balanced now and I don't stress myself out as much constantly looking for (and thus creating) problematic thought patterns to "fix". I think if you let the brain do its own thing, it should balance itself out naturally.

We have two perspectives built into us - analytical, and emotional. Don't get too twisted up in your thoughts, and don't be a slave to your feelings either. Balance is a great mantra to remind yourself of throughout the day. Just let go. It will take time for the mind to be centered and calm again, but it will be quicker than if you were to push it where you think it's supposed to go.

When possible, I try not to react to what I feel, and just observe it until it passes. Things will always influence your emotions. You don't have to let your emotions influence you. Sometimes they're just too strong and they do anyway, and that's perfectly okay. Never resist what you feel or think.

"If you try to force your thinking down specific pathways, your mind will resist you at every turn. But if you trust in your imagination, it will take you in some surprising directions" - unknown, but I know it's from Cirque Du Soleil

Also, I think the ups and downs are inevitable. I try to flow with them and ride the waves. Don't have to tumble downhill and struggle uphill when you can slide down the hill and build up enough momentum to shoot back up the next one :)
Though that is a cool metaphor, I'm not actually sure how helpful it is. I think it makes sense. Life can get shitty sometimes and it's best if you don't resist it. But when you have enough momentum, don't miss that opportunity to swing back up and change things for the better.


I think this is one part of life ... we must learn and and to know it :)


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95