Back then and now: how technology makes my everyday life easier. | Part#2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

action-blur-close-up-735911.jpg

The year is over when the unwillingness to look back over the past year and to consider what it has brought and what it will have to do next year. At the end of each year, I usually think about technologies that have been important to me and have greatly improved my work or life this year.

This is part#2 of my story about back then and now: how technology makes my everyday life easier. Part#1 you can read here: https://steemit.com/life/@ingus42/back-then-and-now-how-technology-makes-my-everyday-life-easier-or-part-1

banking-bill-breakfast-1332191.jpg

Revolut and digital payments:

I used to spend months when almost no cash appeared in my wallet. I have to say that I can live without cash in my everyday life. I pay bills in online bank, account balances and money transfers to my family or friends I pay via mobile apps of banks and more suspicious stores or restaurants before making an order for safety I ask if it will be possible to pay with a payment card. Previously when I travel to other countries I used to withdraw cash to be absolutely safe, but in the last couple of years I don't think about it at all - I pay with the card everywhere. More and more, it is a Revolut card that attracts me with profitable currency conversions, billing functionality, and convenient security features that allow you to quickly block a card if I detect any suspicious activity. Revolut is very clear about the future of digital payments.

cellphone-cellular-telephone-close-up-1305361.jpg

Navigation:

I remember the times when navigation on the phones was not yet and I use the maps to get to the desired place. This, of course, is not superhuman, but it meant that it was time to stop and make sure I was heading in the right direction and planning the next section of the road. Then, some navigators began to show up, but the batteries began to run out very fast. But now is hundreds of different navigators and you can use your smartphone as a navigator. Now I use Waze navigation. From start I don't trust this new navigation technology but now if I need to get faster to somewhere, I fully trust Waze calculations based on real congestion information.

batch-books-document-357514.jpg

Getting information:

When I was younger, I didn't like read news. Then I started to create my own technology blogs and I want to be first to know about the most important technology in the world. I discovered the sites, blogs I was interested in and watched them open each morning to find and read the latest articles there. It was very time consuming and uncomfortable. At the moment, I get most of the news in an automated form using the Feedly RSS aggregator (nothing has been invented after the end of Google Reader). Here, the news from a few hundred sources will come back to me and I spend at least an hour every day to get to know the news. I have also subscribed to the news of several analysts (such as Stratechery) and classical media (such as The Wall Street Journal) and I am trying to read each of their articles. As I spend a lot of time every day at the wheel, I educating myself while listening to podcasts about technology.

As we can see, many technologies have fundamentally changed our lives and without them, life is hard to imagine. Even if we could continue to live without technology support, we would lose convenience and pace. However, with every year, I increasingly understand that our greatest wealth and at the same time the most expensive resource is time, so we must carefully consider the use of technology so that it does not take us over, but work for us.

I wish you a productive and at the same time purely humanly positive and free this 2019. year and ho knows what new technology show up in this 2019 year.

Whats your thoughts about all this technologies evolution its bad or good?

Sort:  

For me it was the arrival of Uber that made things so much easier. I live in Houston. With Uber I can go out on the town and do not worry about traffic, parking, DWI, finding my car, etc. I am dropped off at the front door and picked up wherever I am located. Convenient and dirt-cheap. Being able to order the ride on my phone and watch where my ride is so I do not waste time sitting and wondering when my cab will arrive. Many times the rides are less expensive than paying for parking. Love it or hate it, Uber definitely improved my life in a big city.

This post was upvoted by 1 accounts and @interfecto thanks to @ingus42

@interfecto: Selling the cheapest upvotes on Steemit for just 0.001 SBD each! Send any amount 0.001-0.1 SBD with your postlink as memo to @interfecto to buy instant upvotes!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @ingus42
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98