What Happens When A Perfume Expires?

in #life6 years ago

What Happens When A Perfume Expires?

Have you ever wondered, what happens when a perfume expires? The simple answer is, they lose their pleasant smell, and they smell like methylated spirit. I hope you know what methylated spirit is.

I was in a supermarket a few hours ago. Before leaving, I decided to buy a perfume. On getting home, I sprayed the perfume on a cloth, smelling the cloth. To my surprise, the cloth didn't have any nice smell. Initially, I thought there was something wrong with the product, so I returned it.

At the supermarket, I complained to the owner, and she asked me to choose another one. I chose one and took it home. When I got home, I spayed it also, on another cloth. To my greatest surprise, this second perfume also didn't have a pleasant smell.

Just like the first, it smelt like methylated spirit. I couldn't comprehend what was going on, then I check the expiry date. This perfume had expired since November 2015 — interestingly we are in 2018.

I have no intention to go back to the supermarket, I'll have to throw the perfume away. I shared this, just to tell people like me, who do not check expiry date, to always check the expiry date of a perfume before buying. I also share this content with the hope that I'll get the money of my perfume back, lol.

Sort:  

hum, interesting. I got some perfumes that I store already about 10 years, cause I'm not using it very often.. but it still smells good. Should check the expiry date as soon as I'm home again today - to use it more frequently before it looses its good smell, haha. :D

you know what the average lifetime of a perfume is? xD more like.. 1 year? 5? 10? 20?

That’s actually interesting, I never thought about it. I never, never check the expiration date on my perfumes. I will be aware now! Thank you @inputoutput. You have my upvote and I follow you now ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75