My father could be dying right infront of me.. after cancer post-op surgery and I wouldn't know...

in #life6 years ago

So strange. SEE CANCER?? CUT IT OUT AND YOU ARE DONE. Except... there is a gotcha!!

cut-out-cancer.png

I'm typically not an over-exaggerative person. I always think positive in my life..

Sure, my father was recently diagnosed with a cancer tumor... he went in for day surgery and they cut it out...

..We were all happy. THEY GOT IT!

..until I learned there is a condition known as Sepsis which can often follow post-cancer surgery.

Here's a list of celebrities that you have known that have died from this complication:
https://www.sepsis.org/sepsis-and/celebrities/

So what is Sepsis?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sepsis

  • Sepsis is a life-threatening condition
  • Translation, yesterday you feel great, tomorrow you're rushed to emergency and you die.

...Sepsis is quick. It gives no warning signs to react days ahead.

I have people getting upset at me for not being present at every discord meeting, every blog post for a vote, or understanding why I've been absent so much.

What is a kid suppose to do?

When their father is dealing with cancer, and having increased chances of sepsis... some times you feel the need to walk away from the computer and talk to him.

So that is what I've been doing.

Some people might think I'm weak and unimportant for doing so... As his son I have to pour my time into him while he attempts to heal.

Q: Does this mean intelliwitness as a steem witness may stop?
A: On the contrary, I ordered a backup server, doubling my costs for redundancy and reliability

Q: So why are you telling us this?
A: Probably because I never heard the term sepsis before and I had no idea how fast and troublesome it is..

Thanks for listening...

Sort:  

hello @intelliguy,sorry to hear for your father such awfull news.Sepsis is something you cannot do something about it.
Anyway i wish you the best
btw @funnel istructed me to support you in witness so i will give you my vote

Dude people who arent understanding why you are absent are really missing the point of life. Yes everything goes on, but in a micro way your world is on pauze. If they can not comprehend that, they are really really missing the essence of life.

You as a son are exactly doing what you should in this time

...for those of you who read all of this... my Dad is developing signs of sepsis. His wound is growing, changing, and not healing.

He's in fantastic spirits but his body isn't showing the same.

Sigh..

I am so sorry to hear that. Take all the time you need.

The blog post it was eventually released to the nearest relatives and relatives in the world of Commerce on your smartphone

Don’t think about it! Just make sure he takes whatever precautions he can take! Enjoy your time with your dad!

I have found that my writing was therapeutic as I was dealing with a family memeber going through cancer. These situations either break you or remake you stronger wiser and draw out the best of your humanity

I am so sorry to hear that your father is not doing well. You take the time that you need to be with him. Never let anyone tell you that you shouldn't. Families are more important than anything else on this planet!

You wrote in a response to a comment that your father develops signs of sepsis. I am very sorry to hear this. I hoped that the operation would succeed and that he might live a little longer. I still hope this will be the case, but please take the time you need to be with him. You will never regret it. I wish you and him strength in this difficult time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93