Something I learned today: amaurosis fugax -- what is that??

in #life6 years ago (edited)

If you never heard the phrase "amaurosis fugax" take this opportunity to enlighten yourself of what @intelliguy learned.

amaurosis-fugax.png

Its a strange condition that most people have never heard of before.

Don't be worried. The chances of it happening to you are very rare.

WHAT IS IT?

More so....

WHY DO I CARE?

I'll tell you why.

I met someone with a repetitive condition of "amaurosis fugax" over their life span, and the doctors "think" it could be this or that...or it just might be "cortical blindness"

Wait a minute!

amaurosis fugax or cortical blindness

You don't need to have this condition, to understand, and appreciate and learn what it is...

I'll put it in simple terms.

One day you're driving, you go instantly blind, you yell to your passenger "take over the wheel. I can't see"

.
In a scramble, the passenger guides the vehicle to the side of the road. They drive you to the hospital. They do tests.

Over the next full week you're 100% blind in both eyes.

...and then a week later, your eye sight returns.

"This is a known condition. Albeit rare", the doctor tells you.

Sometimes you're going to go fully blind, without notice.

How do you take something like that? People with this condition cope with it. It's an "episode". Sometimes it can lead to permanent blindness. Sometimes it is just temporary. You could have one episode, or many. It could re-occur 3-4 years apart.

...the person that explained it to me tonight, that had this happen to them many times... doesn't have a choice. They deal with it.

...What is extremely odd, more than the rare condition, is that they are an artist for a living.

.
Can you imagine that? An artist losing their eyesight, going blind, and regaining it again multiple times?

The reason for this blog post, it doesn't matter to me what is happening in my life. ....and reading this... you might think so too.. You might say..."wow" at least that hasn't happened to me or anyone I know!

.

  • ...but then you think about Bitcoin falling, or STEEM price falling, or the unknown destiny of cryptocurrency, and the stress it can play on your investments.

If you can SEE this blog post right now, and you can SEE tomorrow. Your vision is intact...

.
Realize there are people out there with amaurosis fugax or temporary cortical blindness that makes them blind for a week, maybe two or three weeks...

...Life can deal real hard hands.. and major stresses. Bitcoin and the price of your cryptocurrency isn't one of them.

.
.
===========================================================
Sometimes it helps us lower our stress to realize, there are those dealing with much harder situations than our own.

...we should appreciate what we have.

PLEASE NOTE: @intelliguy has a witness project that I'd like you to support. More info here

Sort:  

While working in healthcare, Ive seen so many weird conditions that humans can develop, that it is almost strange that the majority of people is normal.

It makes you more than humble to realize that every day something like that could happen to you. And yes, stuff like crypto, outer appearance, gossip is all not worth it in the end. Love friendship and helping each other is the way what actually benefits peoples lives.

I haven't seen such a case in my life, this shows how diverse is human, maybe I will meet some one with amaurosis fugax or temporary cortical blindness.

Great thought in the end man... So which of the favours of the God would we deny... Absolutely we should appreciate what we have...

When I turned 25, I got a cancer. 50/50 the doctors said. My family, my buddies, my music band, my girl friends, they all supported me. that helped me a lot in getting on the right side of the 50/50. 20 years later, still alive and kicking :-), and posting cool stuff on Steemit (Openschool!)

But what really was a turning in my life was the encounters I experienced with other patients at the hospital. Some knew they had 2 months to go, and this was 100% sure. My 50/50 that devastated me at the time, appeared much sweeter. I grew quite fond of some: it was weird to see some go, like when you have a friend for summer, and at the end of summer, both we go on our merry way. Except that here, the destination was different.

So when I lose money on crypto, I laugh! I play , and I don't give a shit about these details. I am just careful when I take action with something like that (invest only what you can lose).

This is why I also prefer to build things on Steemit (Openschool again!) than to focus on the earnings (relative to another post from you I readthis morning).

Be well, and thansk for this post. It is a good reminder.

Very interesting story you shared. It sounds sounds like those other patients did enjoy your company. We all need a reminder once in awhile. :)

Indeed, one day last year I was about to lose my life. It was a hard time when I realized how insignificant other things may be, but also I has realized how insignificant I am for this world. Indeed we need to appreciate what we have got.

Wow, my first time hearing this. Please let this not happen o, it would be so pathetic. Am afraid but hope something is done about it soon.

Amaurosis fugax causes sudden, reversible loss, lasting up to 30 min with complete and rapid recovery. It is usually due to embolism from the ipsilateral carotid artery to the retinal artery but may be associated with other causes of a transient ischaemic attack

Lovely blog like it great job

For future viewers: price of bitcoin at the moment of posting is 7661.70USD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60