You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do We Listen To Sad Music When We Are Sad?

in #life5 years ago

It works other way round as well. Music has the power to drive our mood, and I have experienced it.

One fine day I was working in my office and side by side listening to music on youtube. For some reason I happened to play sad songs in my playlist(totally unintentional) and after few hours I fell sad and dull.

I realized it while taking a short break that I have got deeply immersed in the emotions of the songs and that drove me to that state. After I came back from the break I switched to some happening and peppy numbers(intentionally this time) and voila!! I was back in the happy swing. :)

So I feel while we are sad, if we give that initial push of 10 seconds and put on some happening music, it can retrieve you to the world of happiness and save someone from going into more saddened state.

Hope this helps.

Sort:  

Music indeed influences your mood. But for some reason, it doesn't help (at least for me) when I try to cover up my sadness with more happy music. It just feels inauthentic and dishonest.

Most of the times, I think it's better to just let the sad feelings out by immersing yourself in sad music because then you are being honest with your own feelings.

My thoughts(I think we might have to agree to disagree here)

The only part I remain concerned about the post or telling any of my friend to stay in the zone of sadness while listening to slow music, is how long they are continuing to be in that zone. And how strong are they to come back from that.

You probably would be strong enough to pull yourself out after couple of hours, but for someone who has seen worst, it might be really difficult for them.

I have known a friend who would close the door, shut off the lights, play sad songs and have drinks and that would continue for a whole night. And this would happen every weekend. She claimed she certainly felt lighter after that. But in my opinion it had high risk of her going into depression.

I don't disagree at all. You are right about the part that some people are not able to pull themselves out of that phase.

I know there are some people for whom it's harder to recover. They dive in way too deep and harm themselves as a way to outlet their emotions, but that is a completely unhealthy way of experiencing sad emotions.

Your friend already seems to be dealing with depression. Oftentimes, people with depression are really good at hiding their feelings, and that's why they shut themselves out and into loneliness.

I can dive deep but still end up recovering rather quickly (not always) because I've taught myself how to do that and it feels so good to experience the beauty of sadness and still get back from it just as fast.

I don't think your friend should be doing those things to herself. It's toxic. If she can afford it, ask her to go see a therapist and talk to her about it more often.

I've been there, and it really helps to have someone who is listening to you and about your problems. I hope she gets better.

She is doing great now and has recovered from that phase.

Thanks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65