Travelling Back in Time with the Coronavirus

in #life4 years ago

Just like in many other parts of the world, in my country, Romania, strict distancing measures have been adopted to limit the spread of the coronavirus. These restrictions have changed within a matter of days and what used to be social distancing guidelines before are now rules that the police and army who are permanently on the streets have to enforce. Some of these new measures have come into force on the 23 of March imply, among others, the interdiction to go out after 22 o'clock.

On the 23 of March, just after 22 PM, unaware of the new restrictions, we went out to buy groceries from a supermarket that normally functioned non-stop. Also, on the supermarket's website, which I did check before going out, it stated that the schedule is stil 24/7. With this thought in mind, off we went to buy supplies (my boyfriend and I).

bodyworn-794099__480.webp

Little did we know that the supermarket would be closed as a consequence of the new restrictions that just started to apply that night. After seeing this, we crossed the street to go buy some essentials from the gas station.

After I disinfected my hand with the sanitizer placed just outside the gas station's door, I entered it and, almost blinded by the bright light, I started looking for water, chocolate, biscuits, and beer. I didn't get the chance to grab the latter when I heard a severe voice behind me telling me to stop whatever it was that I was doing and to identify myself and show them a declaration that ascertained the fact that I was allowed to be out on the street after 22.

I showed them my ID and told them I had no such declaration as I was only out to get some groceries. An innuendo of questions about how come I was not aware that starting that night going out after 10 PM was prohibited in the absence of a work or medical emergency followed. Aling it, also came several times the menace that I could get a fine.

police-378255__480.webp

At the end of 10 terribly long, intense, and frustrating minutes, we were allowed to head back home (me and my boyfriend who was waiting for me outside the gas station and was previously questioned and scolded), without getting a fine.

If anything, this event made me understand how things weren in our country 30 years ago during the communist era when policemen were in control of everything and threatened and tried to intimidate you before they explained to you what you did wrong (although, back than it wasn't even necessary to do something wrong to be questioned, dragged to the station and interrogated it was all about exercising power).

Bottom line is that I got a glimpse of how living in that period was and it's a good thing because when we'll go back to normal, hopefully soon, I'll appreciate the times we're living in even more.

Pictures from www.pixaby.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56