It comes in threes..

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My whole life I have always had a hard time with getting close to people. It didn't matter who it was, my heart, my thoughts would always go to how much it would hurt to lose them. So I always pushed people away. I mean if I wasn't close to many then there was only a few I could lose..

Within the last few years my husband and I joined a church. The first day we walked In we were approached by an elderly gentleman with kindness. He was the warmest welcome. It seemed as if we had known him for a long time. His history was long and hard he had been sick for 30 years and was not supposed to be alive . I will tell you this man was probably the strongest man I have ever met. He never complained about his sickness. It was always about everyone else, and checking in on me and my family to make sure we were okay even though he was clearly in so much pain. He never once in the short time I knew him let his sickness be an excuse. He encouraged me to get into the praise team, and invited my family to join his for some karaoke. This kind strong hearted man went home to be with his Lord and Savior last week. We had the pleasure of going to his celebration of life and listening to the stories of so many he impacted.. I found myself wondering what if I didn't allow him to have that impact in my life. I knew him for only a short time and the Influence he had on our lives I couldn't imagine how much he affected those who knew him longer. I just remember telling my husband when we lost our friend, that I was scared because it has always come in threes and the scariest part was wondering what the other two was.

The next day after saying our goodbyes, I received a phone call learning of another friend who is battling cancer.. My heart just broke. This friend has been a big mentor in my life and someone I look up to. Now here I am learning that his time could end.. I cried myself to sleep that night. This is the second bad news.

Here I am, finding myself anxiously waiting to find out the third.. Praying it never comes, although its never failed me before..

Sort:  

Congratulations @itworks4sierra! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60