Jamaica - Black River & YS Falls

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

As promised, today I will be writing about my trip to Jamaica again and the different excursions we went on. Jamaica is a beautiful country and there were a lot of places we wanted to see. However, we only had a limited amount of time. My boyfriend and I decided to visit Y.S. Falls, Black River and the Luminous Lagoon. In this post I am hoping to let you know my thoughts on these locations and also let you know where I plan on going next time.

20180311_192644.jpg
On the way to YS Falls

20180311_192718.jpg

First, I will speak about Y.S Falls. The trip there was a long one, about a 3 hour drive. I was amazed at how many mountains there are. Along the way we stopped at a market and met a few locals we also tried some of the fresh fruit. Once we got to the falls I was in awe as YS Falls is made up of several waterfalls. It is privately owned and cost about $20 USD to visit. There are life guards on site as well. When we first arrived I wasn't quite sure what to expect. We were approached by one of the lifeguards who offered to take us around the falls. At first I was a little apprehensive but it was a great experience. I was amazed at how easily he maneuvered through the falls. He directed us where to walk and made sure we didn't fall. He also took great pictures for us! I had a great experience there and enjoyed that the location wasn't as "touristy" as other locations. If you enjoy scenic adventures and waterfalls, then I would recommend checking out YS Falls.

20180311_195001.jpg

20180311_195122.jpg

20180311_195042.jpg

20180311_195659.png

Next on our adventure through Jamaica, we headed to Black River to see some crocodiles. I must say, this was my favourite part of the trip. I got to eat some authentic food (we had oxtail and chicken with rice... it was soo good). The one downfall was that we went during rain season, so the river itself wasn't it's usually shade of black. But it was amazing to be so close to crocodiles! I also learned that the people that work with the crocodiles are crazy. I was amazed to see the tour guide petting the crocodiles! It was so surreal. I really did enjoy the drive through the country. It is a lot different from my home in Canada.

20180311_202002.jpg

20180311_202024.jpg

20180311_202115.jpg

20180311_202201.jpg

20180311_202224.jpg

Lastly, we decided to go to the luminious lagoon. This excursion you can only do at night. My boyfriend and I were a little taken aback as we were on a boat in the middle of the night and had no idea where we were going. When the boat stopped, the captain let us know that we could go swimming in order to experience the lagoon first hand. The lagoon is home to what is known as dinoflagellates. When disturbed, they glisten and produce a glow. It is an amazing thing to experience and I would definitely recommend checking it out. We did take a few pictures, but they didn't capture the experience very well.

Next time we go to Jamaica we are planning on visiting Blue Mountain as we are both coffee connoisseurs. We are also hoping to check ou Dunn's River Falls. The reason we went to YS Falls this time was because there are less people. Dunn's River Falls seems to be a tad more touristy, but I still want to visit. If there is anywhere you would recommend please let me know!

That's it for now,

Jackie

Sort:  

Congratulations @jackieko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77