Sort:  

thanks @jacobpeacock good suggestion. I was definintley going to create something out of fiberglass to be a wind block at the front of the trailer. I'm going to add another piece of angle and pin the panel frame so it stays locked during transport. Yes I plan to travel around with the trailer. What type of cover would you suggest?

A few ideas come to mind @makinstuff here and both would have a hinged bottom (I am thinking a continuous piano hinge) below the panels on the side of the trailer and the cover could be lowered from the top to create a 'shelf' (workbench/countertop/table) when the trailer is stationary. The entire shelf could hang on two pieces of cable or telescoping armatures at either end. This 'shelf' would also minimize the potential of people bumping into the panels when walking or working near the trailer.

  • A PVC (polyvinyl chloride) pipe frame with a sheet of thick PVC (polyvinyl chloride) attached to it or a sheet of Polypropylene attached to it. There are downsides to either because of wind and flexibility but given enough anchor points I think it would work well.

  • A 3/8" or 1/2" plywood panel with 2"X2" lumber attached at the edges of the entire panel. Then coat the entire frame/panel in fiberglass to make it one uniform piece. Much like what is done with plywood and lumber when boat building. This would be a bit heavier than the first option but it would be much more durable and would make an excellent 'shelf'.

Note: You could also add some sort of padding to the interior of the cover but I would be careful in doing that because the padding might break down over time and bond to the surface of the solar panels.

Very great description of this @jacobpeacock I was having a hard time visualizing this at first glance, but now I get how this would work and be quite functional for the system. Thank you for your detailed comment and suggestion brother! I really like your concept here.

Thanks @makinstuff It is tricky trying to describe things with words and often I have to re-write things like that multiple times and hope it makes sense to the reader. I often do all my design stuff by drawing things out but once I start doing that I get a bit over involved and wind up with a dozen versions of the same thing made from different materials and basically fall down the proverbial rabbit hole of designing.

If you ever have things you want input on feel free to tag me with a question (Note: I don't always see the tags) or chime in on one of my post and I will lend you my brain power. I avidly enjoy inventing things and advancing on the designs (ideas) of others. It is a hobby that I developed early in life and never let go of. Cheers and best of luck to you!

Dude that's awesome, I don't think I would have thought of the suggestion you made but it's super utility and I think it will be a great addition to this prototype. Thanks again brother, I will for sure make sure to tag you in other brainstorming operations. Love the input from everyone here. Another Steemian @smithlabs also gave a great suggestion of integrating some springs to keep the panels from rattling in transport. Love the feedback y'all are giving.

You are quite welcome! Yeah @smithlabs comes up with some interesting stuff! I really like the spring idea. That is pretty brilliant actually!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88