The Circumcision Question

in #life8 years ago

Humanity has been slicing young penises for thousands of years.

Some parents do it for religious reasons, some do it because the doctor advised them to, and some do it because the father insisted his son be a spitting image of him.

If you're a new parent considering circumcision, here's a tip:

Your son's penis is not your property, it is your son's property, and you have no right to have it mutilated against his will.

It doesn't matter whether it's for medical or religious reasons, to carve off part of an infant's penis is psychotic behavior. Circumcision is maiming your son for life. We're born with foreskins for a reason. If your son one day decides he doesn't want it, he can have it removed of his own accord. It's not your fucking call to make.

Sort:  

i see it as a form of abuse

Well jewish people have the rabbi bite it off with their mouths. Now thats some crazy shit

That's complete bullshit. I'm Jewish.

That doesnt make it not true

It means I'd know if it's true

According to the Sumerian texts it was a way of marking the Half bloods and humans to tell them apart from the gods

If my son wants to mark himself that's up to him. Wouldn't supposed Gods be able to mark themselves?

Then you might want to do some research

I've never heard this before. Do you know exactly which part of the text this is found in?

Hi it's been a while since I read stitchens books but I did a quick search and found this. http://ancientmistery.weebly.com/origin-of-circumcision.html
Also this is a link to Columbia universities codex
http://cdli.ucla.edu/collections/columbia/columbia_intro.html

I am Jake's dad. I hereby publicly apologize for allowing his (Jewish) mom to have a mohel come in and remove his foreskin. If it makes anybody feel any better mine was cut as well, back in 1964. I'm not Jewish, so there was no party associated with my circumcision, just a doctor and nurse or two at the old Ballard Community Hospital (Now Swedish Ballard) in Seattle.

Anyway, I was wrong. There, son, can we move on now? Making Mom and I feel bad may be a NAP violation . . . .

That was rather a qualified apology. Perhaps just acknowledge both Jake's and your own feelings about this, and allow him his process and timing for when he is ready to "move on".

can we move on now?

I stopped talking with my father because of my circumcision. In our case it was different, as he cut his foreskin at 26 due to adherences and para-phimosis. I told him I thought neonatal circumcision was a crime and he replied that if I didn't shut up, he would likely commit another crime.

You can not determine how someone else reacts to your actions. You may have thought this was the best for you both, but by your own admission it wasn't. You can't expect your son to move on unless you have returned what you took from him. Now you can only accept his grief, you were the cause of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60