Help! I think Steemit might make me a better person

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I get so lonely at the top
I get so lonely at the top
It be so lonely at the top
It be so lonely at the top
I be so lonely at the top
I be so lonely at the top
-Rick Ross

Where I hear that song, I feel lust. Why? Because am a loner. My idea of a good evening is driving home in a fast car(alone), on a lonely country road to my Acre home, spend around an hour with my wife and kids and then retire to my large library for the rest of the evening, ....alone.

Generally speaking, I am not one for community living. Why exactly I don't know. Maybe it's the way nature designed me, or maybe growing up in Lagos, Nigeria is a sure way to strip yourself of basic human emotions fast. But in the world I am from, to be a king you must be a lion. But on here, to be a king all you have to be is HUMAN. How about that?.

The steemit bug actually took a while to catch on thought. An acquaintance , Dante, who I am very grateful to have met, introduced me to the steemit blockchain and a few Nigerian online steemit communities. I was immediately surprised at the togetherness on all of the group chats and discord servers. All these people, these strangers, were chatting away like old school mates.

But trust my Lagos street smart to come to the conclusion that since money was involved, people would act right.

Then a week later , Dante sent me the link to the #writers-block discord server. And before I could familiarize myself with how it works, there were already 3 people in the #general room welcoming me by name!. I can't lie, I was shocked, why are this people so nice, people don't act like this? No clapbacks? No trailer jam? Who are this guy's? B'cos where am from, people are mostly assholes. It felt quite odd to me since main aim then was to make some quick crypto. I felt like an imposter in the land of nice people.

Then yesterday I read about the gift economy, read about Metclafs law, read a bit more on the gift economy, went and actually participated on the steemnigeria whatsapp group. That was when I noticed there was a problem, not only did I participate, I actually enjoyed it. And it wasn't for the money.

Just a few weeks of exposure to Steemit and am getting quite infested with the bug. I hope it stays and I actually figure out how to be more useful in the communities.

Plus, I get to improve my writing skills. Wow.

Dante said to me today, "come for the money, stay for the friends". Have not made a lot of friends on here yet, but am excited for the future.

Go Steemit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69299.72
ETH 3669.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.28