Bee house set up and other stuffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Yesterday afternoon was pretty nice so I spent a little while taking care of outdoor stuff... until the weather moved in and it got chilly again.
First I wanted to get our new bee house into place. Isn't it nice?
20190410_221217.jpg

We have had a bee shelter in our crabapple tree for the last 4 or 5 years. Unfortunately it finally fell apart last winter and is now housing for ground dwelling bugs.
20190410_221326.jpg

There is just enough room between the trunks for the new house to nestle snugly into place!
20190410_221347.jpg

If you are wondering what kinds of bees live in these tubes and houses, check out the posts by @solominer about their bee houses. They have some very informative ones and I learned a bunch from them.

My second project was to put new windshield wipers on my vehicle. While I did that, the sun slipped behind a cloud and lit up the horizon quite beautifully.
20190410_221247.jpg

Then the rain started to move in and I headed inside to put dinner together. I have had a few long days at work this week due to several early morning training classes for East coast staff and a big study I was working on. My boss and I presented the study today and got some nice accolades for all the work. It has been SO stressful trying to get it done on time.

I am looking forward to sleeping in until 7 am tomorrow! Happy Thursday everyone!

Sort:  

I love these bee/insect hotels! I hope you get some tennants even made these when I lived in London. Also piled up dead wood in my concrete garden to attract and care for Stag Beetles

Stag Beetles are so neat! I haven't seen any out here in Montana but I used to see giant stags all the time when I lived in Virginia.
We have an old woodshed in our backyard here that was taken over by thatch ants, they have a huge mound in it and we just let them do their thing. I suspect that the old pile of wood beyond the ant nest is making a pretty busy bug habitat.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


1493220034-pink-velvet-cake.jpg

Manually curated by @solominer.

@jamethiel ah very nice, excited to see what moves in. Hopefully whatever was using your old bee home will find your new home.

And thanks alot for the mention.

I have enjoyed your posts, you are welcome!

This is very nice bee house.

Thank you! We hope that the bees agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99