Life and Death of a Great man - Nate Davis

in #life5 years ago

On Saturday I had the privilege to volunteer to take pictures at a funeral for a great person.

Back in September a few days after he was diagnosed we got together in the mountains of Utah to do pictures in the fall colors before he started his treatment.

A STORY ABOUT FAMILY PICTURES

image.png
It was humbling and really a happy moment for me knowing that I got to bless their lives with these family pictures, I certainly didn't want these to be their last family pictures or have them be used at his funeral. But I'm so happy they have some bright happy pictures that really show off the joy in their family and their personalities.


And i'm not gonna say i wasn't proud that during the funeral service his daughter shared some thoughts from each of the kids: What were their favorite moments with their dad?

The youngest shared that "it was the time they got to go up into the mountains and take pictures as a family"... i think he said he felt so "close" or "connected" to his family.... made my heart so happy I played a small role. He gets to not only retain that memory in his heart but there are super happy joyful and colorful pictures to remind him for the rest of his life.

NATE

Nate I met 20 years ago in Bolivia but my memory isn't amazing so most of my memories come from the last few years. He was such a giver. Bitcoin did him well but I think he just used that to bless the lives of everyone else. Serving truly made him happy.

One of my favorite quotes from the funeral about him was: "If it's worth doing... it's worth overdoing" And when he served he believed in being over the top in his service or gifts.

A STORY OF FAITH

Funerals can be so amazingly touching ... this one was certainly a life cut short but Nate's family was amazing in sharing a verbal and visual portrait of a life well lived and a life that reflected the greatest example of Christ. Nate truly and honestly was a beautiful example of kindness and service. It would have been an anathema just to think of him saying something unkind.

I didn't know his wife as well but her talk was inspiring beyond words. So many ask "WHY is this happening to me?" her and Nate never asked why but just tried their hardest to make the best of a bad situation and figure out how to bless other lives through this... how could this bring faith and love to others.

I will paraphrase but she said that even in such a hard and sad circumstance for their family... that the real tragedy in all of this would be for someone to loose their faith or stop praying because they felt their prayers were not answered. (And there were many many many praying for nate... he was well loved)
She knew and we all knew that this is exactly how Nate would feel. He honestly would have sacrificed his life to make sure no one lost their relationship with their Heavenly father.


CANDID FUNERAL MOMENTS

Having just been to and spoke at my Mother's funeral I pretty much knew what kinds of pictures I think should be taken.

Like a memory of the massively large crowd because this guy did SOOO much to bless the lives of others.

FAMILY PICTURES

They also really wanted some family pictures to remember this gathering.

I loved photographing the displays they did to give homage to a life well lived

THE MEMORIES

DOCUMENTING THE FEEL

Grabbing some candids that could also give a feel for the experience


And I did get to see a few other people I knew from Bolivia there.


As you can tell Nate was a bit of a tech guy... and big mac fan.

Sort:  

Those photos are so beautiful and this literally made me tear up. I hope you're okay

What a beautiful post about Nate. I felt like I got to know him a little bit. Thanks for sharing and some great pictures.

Hi @jarvie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.026 which ranks you at #309 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @jarvie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62