Carnivore Diet Worked for Me

in #life5 years ago

me.jpeg
Photo taken 03-27-2019

Why I Tried the Diet

I started this diet because of how @lily-da-vine looked after 90 days. I was floating around 200lbs and couldn't get any lower after losing 42 pounds the previous year. I needed to lose weight because of degenerative disc disease & stenosis in my spine. I couldn't work anymore and was fighting for some normalcy in my life. So this new high fat & protein diet couldn't hurt, right?

ME2.jpg
This was me just before the diet

Body Transformation

In the first 3 weeks, I saw a 23 lbs weight loss but I was absolutely miserable on the diet. I was suffering from keto flue & some ferocious digestive issues. I thought I couldn't get through it but at the encouragement of John & Lily, I found the strength to stack "wins" (days not eating carbs). After about 20 days my body started changing. My digestive system was different. I was less gassy & going to the bathroom far less. I used to go once or twice a day to once every 7 to 12 days with no discomfort. My muscles got smaller but not weaker. My pants were looking very strange and I had to buy new clothing 3 times. My body had adapted to the high fat & protein diet and in total, I lost 35 lbs.

The Mind

Mostly I lived in a fog because I was malnourished. I never ate well. You would think I would be on a constant head fog without all the fruits and veggies but turns out my mind is sharper and more focused than I used to be in the past. I don't think I am anymore or less intelligent than I was before, just seem to be a step or two faster in my head.

Screen Shot 20190329 at 12.45.12 PM.png
Facebook Live 02-01-2019

The Unexpected

A something popped up during the diet. I was unexpectedly shot 3 times, once in the wrist, once through the knee & in my chest. I found myself confused as for why but my mind was clear the entire time and I felt very little pain, even days after. My head was so clear I was counseling my friend while I was being stitched up and trying to keep the doctors engaged. I also felt like my hospital visit made many staff members nervous & I needed to do something so I could get my wounds stitched up. 10 days after the shooting I found myself actually running... from the police but still running. I think I ran 300 or 400 yards pain-free. It has been about 7 weeks from the shooting an I am almost at 100% with some minor nerve issue in my arm.

What Health Issues Linger?

I still have my back issues. My facet joints are still pressing on each other causing my legs to fail but I have far less pinched nerves than I use to having. I think the stenosis is getting better but my discs haven't grown back. I don't expect they will but I am hopeful I can work full time again soon.

Final Thoughts

I'm glad I tried the diet, I am convinced I would have died if I weren't on it. I don't think I'll be coming off this diet until my body tells me I need something else.

People have complex body chemistry and I don't advise anyone to diet without careful research on their body and the diet they want to try. Doctors & dieticians don't have all the answers. Remember to listen to your body and think carefully before your act.

Sort:  

Nice man! I'd hardly recognize you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85