You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Superhuman Eyesight With These Bionic Lenses - 3 Times Better Than 20/20 Vision! 👁

in #life7 years ago

This is some very cool medical technology!

In the past few years the medical field has made some truly amazing advances/breakthroughs.

I've said a number of times.."by the time I'm "old," I'll be part cyborg."

One really interesting advancement I recall blowing my mind, was the ability to keep lungs alive and functioning while outside of the human body.

  • Apparently prior to this procedure, lungs had to be transplanted within 45minutes or they deteriorated beyond usability.

  • Now, they can keep them hooked up to a breathing machine for several hours allowing the blood to circulate and essentially keep the lungs in near perfect health until the patient is ready for transplant.

  • I also believe that they aren't too far off from perfecting procedures which would allow other organs to survive outside of the body for longer periods of time. This would effectively increase the amount of harvested organs useable/available for transplant by an insane number!

Really enjoyed this post!

Sort:  

Wow that's so interesting - thanks for sharing.
And it's true, we will all be partly cyborg in the future!

Haha I've made my peace with it.

I just hope that it doesn't somehow turn cynical in the future.... Where the company that made your implant or prosthetic still owns somehow and therefore owns a part of your body..

I can see someone thinking that's a great idea...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67788.76
ETH 3783.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52