You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Social Media Use Leading To Depression?

in #life5 years ago

I dont this is limited to social media alone, but ALL aspects of online engagement.The interwebs can be a really dark place at times and I dont think that everyone is actually emotionally or mentally geared to handle the things and people which they encounter.... such as trolls, negative media etc.

Yes it has its plusses too but I think for the most part, and especially for young kids, tweens and teens... it can have exceptionally detrimental effects. And not only the visuals and/or individuals that cross their paths but just the impact it has on their brains. I have noticed this even with my 9 yr old son. Too much tech time and his personality literally changes! He is moody, short tempered etc. And his sleep patterns become really distrupted. So he is only allowed tech time on weekends now and he is a LOT happier for it.

Sort:  

I'm glad you observed this and made changes. It's real and I've seen similar things happen with a few of my friends children and distant cousins who have been introduced to technology when they were even younger. Sadly some of their parents aren't bothered about it. They are barely social and remain glued into their devices instead of making any communication whatsoever. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89