Tech Junkies... Old and New...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

QQQQQQ.jpg

As a graphic designer by trade and a complete tech junkie - I have never had to live with the problem of being "an illiterate" when it comes to computers and tech related topics. What is often self-explanatory to me - is NOT to many others, especially those of the older generation.

Having said that... I am often pleasantly surprised at how the older generation is becoming increasingly tech savvy - in fact... I would go as far as to say that they actually really enjoy all the benefits of it - (although few would admit it)...lest their children forget that they walked a million miles to school, raised several children, worked a full time job, made home cooked meals, packed lunches and still managed to do all the housework. ;)

I know there are many people who are incredibly "anti" social media... but no, I am not one of them...

"Hi, my name is Jayne and I am a social media addict" - Just Saying lol!

I am what you could call "passionate" about social media and online networking. I work it and "juice it" for everything it is worth. Do I appreciate time away from it? but of course.... Would I choose to be removed from my life? Absolutely NOT!

My reality, as a designer and mom is that outside of my hours in front of the computer... I am pretty much EXHAUSTED and whilst a good "Razzle Dazzle night on the town" is great from time to time... I do find that these days I simply don't have the energy for it (or the inclination to deal with the after effects. Lol)

This is how we prefer to roll these days... lol

Keeping that in mind it makes a lot of sense (to me anyway) that the older generation would get GREAT pleasure from the convenience which social media and technology offers.

"Maturing" comes with a whole truckload of responsibilities and getting time with your friends or family is often not an option anymore. Never mind couples having to make date nights in order to get some quality time together, friends too are faced with a similar agenda.

Technology offers a solution to that problem. No it does not replace one on one contact - but it does offer "compensation". Mom's, Dad's and even Aunts, Uncles and grandparents now have access to a million pictures which tell the story that is "our lives" (and we all know how much grandparents love photos hehe. )

One of my aunts is the biggest (older generation) social media junkie I know...hehe... In fact I think she might even trump me (only just.lol) she is on every online platform known to man... and she LOVES it!

I think it is wonderful! Yes, I speak as a person from one of the last generations to ever have had any "balance" in upbringing... because i grew up with AND without technology... but still, I think it's fabulous that the older generation is "diving in" and enjoying it.

Why the hell not! Life is too short not to enjoy ALL of it!

It's looks to me...like many of them are turning into the addicts they never thought they would be. ;)

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

#thealliance

Sort:  

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Steem-Coin-small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

3.95...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

We should be helping the older generation adopt technology so that they do not miss out!

absolutely :)

I have a front row seat in this matter. Just 3 Years ago My Mom didn't even want to have a Smartphone my Dad used to Dabble a bit but my mom was strictly against smartphones.

Now My Mom is always stuck on her Smartphone watching Videos on Youtube Playing silly Games, etc.

Its nice to say that my Mom has totally adopted the technology.

hehehehe!!! it is too cute really!!

Yeah it's true I can't help but giggle a bit when my parents ask me simple stuff.

It's good to see that they are trying to evolve with the time.

This is very good post

thank you :)

Wauw, it is so refreshing to see this addressed from the older generation! I recently posted about children and technology. I wonder how you look at this for your children. What are your ideas on making sure they are ready and capable to handle themselves in the black box, digital and creative society?

I'm following you and gave your post an upvote + resteem! I'd be very grateful if you enjoy my post enough to return the favor 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69