Compartmentalizing your life with a routine?

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-355000.jpeg

I always stuck with a routine while growing up. Everything had it's own time and space. I don't think it was a conscious effort. It just happened that way. All the things I did had their own little "compartments" in my life and putting them in different places felt odd.

Homework was usually finished by 4pm. Dinner was eaten at 6pm. Television was watched until 9pm. Sleep ended at 6:30am.

Friday evenings were for relaxation and on Saturdays I watched Top of the Pops.

And so my life went.

It may sound a bit boring but following a routine taught me that it's possible to exercise the discipline you need to achieve your goals.

Sticking to a routine can sometimes get boring and you may be tempted to abandon it in search for something better or faster. Everyone has their own suggestions about productivity. At the end of the day, you'll need to work with what you're comfortable with.

Working with a routine can help you declutter your life and get things done. In my experience, I've observed that it helps to give some structure to my day because I don't have to spend a lot of time thinking about what I have to do next. It helped to sharpen my focus.

If you feel like you've got a lot of clutter in your life and need a routine, try these steps:

  1. Write down what you want to accomplish / what's bothering you. This can help you put it all in perspective and you'll be able to get some clarity.

  2. Develop an action plan. Think of the best route you can take to help you get to where you want to be. Everything doesn't have to be perfect so don't dwell on the imperfections. Work with what you've got.

  3. Take action. Once you've developed an action plan, discipline yourself to stick to it and take action every day. You can take tiny steps. What's important is that you keep moving in the right direction.

Do you stick to a routine? Hit reply and let us know how that has been working out for you.

If you liked this post, don't forget to upvote, resteem and follow!

Stock image from pexels.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58