Slang Has Really Changed Over the Years.

in #life6 years ago

We all use slang. I remember a time when slang words were not even included in the dictionary.

Back then we considered the English language to be a little bit more rigid. Now is considered to be quite flexible.

Over the course of about 20 years I've noticed a variety of words come in and out of the language. Some are still used frequently and some have all but stopped being heard.

It can be really interesting to notice the different slang words that are used now versus the ones that were used in the past.

Let's take a look.


Source: Pixabay.com

When I was in high school there were two words that were used very frequently.

Dude and man.

This was about 20 years ago, and I will admit that we weren't as imaginative back then.

Dude and man are both still used quite frequently, although dude now seems to be relegated to stoners.

Next up around here was bro.

At some point everybody became bro.

I really liked that because it had a very friendly tone to it.

There was also a brief period in which some hip hop derived words were used by just about everyone.

Real talk.

It meant that you were talking in a real no nonsense way.

Square Business.

I'm pretty sure this meant exactly the same thing as real talk. For some reason people would say real talk and square business all the time about 15 years ago.

Already.

This meant okay.

It was pretty much an affirmative statement that could mean anything as long as it was used in a positive way.

All day.

This was another positive statement that pretty much meant I'm ready for anything, I can do it all day.

One thing I did I notice recently is that we used to focus on being cold.

Cool.

Chillin.

Now we focus more on being warm.

Hot.

Lit.

Fire.

I'm not sure what that's about, but honestly I'd rather be cool then hot so I don't know.

The English language is a very flexible thing, and I really like that.

I'm sure in time these words will be replaced by new slang.

It will be interesting to see what everyone comes up with.

Sort:  

English language is the international language.

Your writing very well.

It's a creativity story.

Thanks.

Thanks my friend.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am not English Mother tongue, but I use this language for my work and I had to learn some slang to feel comfortable with. However, I have to be careful to use it in the appropriate moments and only exceptionally, otherwise I will only speak slang!
Languages are alive and changing continuously: look how technology changed it for example. It says a lot about the change of the society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95