Stocking up for the holidays isn't really necessary anymore.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I remember a time not too long ago when the holiday season meant going to the grocery store and making sure the pantry, refrigerator, and freezer were stocked up on food.

basket.jpg
Pixabay

Well things certainly seem to have changed a lot since then.

Nowadays my restaurant is open during every single holiday. That means I will always be able to go to the restaurant, and I'll always have to work that day but I'll always have access to food.

After all, it is a restaurant.

I'm noticing a lot of different places that are open on Christmas and Thanksgiving that I would not have necessarily thought would be open. Places like Chinese food, pizza chains, and various other restaurants like my own.

I guess the obvious thought is....

Why not be open on a holiday? Don't you want to make money that day?

And of course the answer to that is....

Don't you want to spend time with your family? Wouldn't you like a nice day off after you've been working so hard?

Well I can see both sides of the coin, but I do think that things have been a bit harder for everyone economically speaking.

Maybe it's better for places to be open during the holiday. It means that you might have to work that day, but it also means that you can make money that day.

Not all of us have paid time off. I don't get any paid time off or any vacation time so I don't mind working just because I really do need that money.

Of course this means you don't have to stock up either. Having places already open means that you don't need to go to the grocery store and fill your refrigerator and freezer up with food.

This is a good thing. In fact it's awesome.

Would I like to have a day off? Sure. I don't think I've had a day off at all this entire year, but I still need to make money at least until crypto finally starts going the direction I wanted to.

To the Moon Alice! To the Moon!

Maybe one day.

Until then stocking up for the holidays isn't really necessary anymore.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64