Would yesterday's Non PC comedies still work in today's overly PC world?

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday I decided to watch Rush Hour 2 which is a movie I haven't seen in quite some time.

Rush Hour 2 came out in 2001 which is 16 years ago.

It doesn't seem like it was that long ago.

It's obviously a movie about Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker going out and fighting crime together and also getting into a lot of trouble.


Source: Imdb.com

There's a lot of mildly risque material.

Some of the conversations and jokes between the two main characters seem like they really wouldn't fly in today's politically charged world.

I can't help but wonder if this movie would be capable of being made today.

There are rumors of Rush Hour 4 being in the works but will it still be able to stand up to the Rush Hour 2 type of hilarious comedy?

I have a feeling some of the more risque material will be toned down to fit today's world.

What about the Naked Gun series of movies?


Source: Giphy.com

I was just a kid when I went and saw Naked Gun with my friend.

We were immediately impressed by the opening montage which included several naked women

That's moderately surprising considering that the movie had a tame rating and I believe we were about 14 years old when we saw it.

I seriously doubt if some of the humor in that movie would fly today either.

It feels like we're going backwards and not forwards.

Would yesterday's Non PC comedies still work in today's overly PC world?

I doubt that we'll ver see anything like Airplane, Naked Gun, or even Rush Hour 2 in the near future.

That saddens me quite a bit.

Sort:  

It would have a chance. The world is going crazy pc but there are still a lot of us who actually like to speak our mind regardless of public opinion and who can still watch these movies as the comedies that they are designed as, not political statements.
As long as material isnt harmful or abusive is dont see the fuss in using it.

I definitely agree. People just want to take things out of context so that they can argue with each other instead of simply enjoying something like a movie.

Exactly. There is a time to be politically correct and there are different levels depending on who you are and what you are up to. For the regular person, telling a blond joke shouldn't amount to a capital crime. It's just a joke.

I love Mel Brooks movies. Not sure any of them would get made today.

No doubt about that.

I guess the ones that were too un pc would be relegated to the more expensive subscription channels :) Thought provoking post here. Re-Steemed.

Thank you. I really appreciate the Resteem.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 3.08 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @jeezzle. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

A pleasant post. @jeezzle followedd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71342.73
ETH 3809.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49