GIVE ONLY WHAT YOU CAN AFFORD TO LOSE

in #life6 years ago (edited)

. giving-back-3.png
(PHOTO SOURCE: http://topnaija.ng/30-motivational-quotes-giving/)

There is so much to say about giving, a lot has been said and a lot is yet to be said. Different people have different opinions about giving, who should be given and what should be given. Personally, I admire people who give, because I don't consider myself a fantastic giver. I am more on the shrewd side; you have to be really deserving to get anything from me. This, of course, is not something I am particularly proud of. Sometimes, I wish I can do more. On the bright side, despite being a stingy giver; when I eventually give, I do so with all my heart, without holding back.
I have met some people who end up regretting their act of giving. sometimes they say "I shouldn't have given so much, he didn't even say a thank you." It beats me because giving is supposed to be a selfless act (Selfless-as in the act of caring for others more than oneself) This means one is expected to detach oneself when giving-give only what you can afford to lose.
We are different individuals, so don't go doing something because somebody else did. If giving out a cent will give you sleepless nights, then please hold onto your money. There are so many other ways we can give of ourselves to humanity. Giving does not have to be in material form alone. You can give in form of service, lending a listening ear or even giving out useful advice, support, and comfort. Whenever you doing something for another with your whole heart; without a reason, without any attachments, without expectations or reward. You are giving, and your reward is in heaven.

Sort:  

Just like you mentioned, people have different opinions about giving. I agree with you about detaching yourself from your gift and not expecting anything in return. Giving should indeed be selfless no matter what religious group you belong to.

This is not what the Bible says. Where does it tell you to do this? Giving is not worth anything in the eyes of God unless it is done in the way prescribed by God. And he tells in the rules for the grain fields;

You are to reap only enough that you can live through the day. And you are not to take the first fruits at all. The rest, you leave alone just in case somebody poorer than yourself wanders by and needs feeding.

When you give money, you likely earned that money by way of focusing on your own personal wealth, which is also referred to as the beast. The flesh. When you give money and take a tax deduction; you have merely given away somebody's nameless money, as much connection as you have to funding a sweat shop when you buy shoes.

When you give service, and you are in any way compensated or have nothing better to do; it is not the Spirit of love. Love is all God ever wants of anyone, because faith follows. The human heart is all evil, all the time. The mind is stupid, all the time. And so the rules set forth in the Bible for charity and love are mandatory for it to be seen in his eyes. We have altered definitions and accepted lies over time, but the Bible's word will always overrule our ideas and feelings.

If it is not sacrifice, it is not love. If it is not love, it is empty. I suggest you open, and read, and do not think, and do not do other than what your savior and owner has asked of a very much willing and free slave. If nothing else, Paul's letters to the people who were trying to be good at that time, too.

Like I said different people, different opinions. My post, my opinion.

Who said anything about opinion? I have no horse in this race. I am relaying no man's opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54