SO GOOD TO BE HOME

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I AM BACK HOME

Hello my dearest steemians, family and friends. It's been a very long while. I have been away due to several engagements. I have missed the community and so many very special people I have met here on Steemit. I have missed working on @utopian-io. How has the community been? I know I have missed alot. I can see that alot of folks have withdrawn from Steemit due to the price, but I am glad a good number are still on board.

WHAT HAVE I BEEN UP TO?

Immediately after the world cup in Russia, we started the journey of a very important project in ETI-OSA Local government area of Lagos State to reach, impact and empower at least 350 youths and women for a period of 4 weeks in 10 different skills.

If you have read my posts in the past, you should know that I am the Vice President of SOCASEMP INITIATIVE. SOCASEMP INITIATIVE is a non governmental organization that is growing and it's vision is to:

Seek-out places and areas where there are high needs and opportunities for valuable impact and respond with initiatives targeted at:

Poverty alleviation
Building Sustainable Livelihood
Mind and Capacity development
Nation Building.

You can read more about the Initiative here

THE PROGRAM

We had a total of 725 interested applicants but we registered about 508 individuals for the training. We graduated a total of 388 beneficiaries after the training which lasted for 4 weeks.

We trained the beneficiaries in the following courses:

Digital Literacy
Website Design
Fashion Creation & Design
Catering(Baking/Cooking)
Music(Vocals/Instrumentation/Performance)
Dance
Event Planning & Decoration
Fine Art
Make-Up
Wig Making

We also had general training in business management/development, wellness and some extra curricular classes in Photography/Editing. We had a fitness challenge on the first Saturday of week 1 during the training.

It was an impactful training program and the lives of these beneficiaries have been transformed for good.

This training was organized for free. The beneficiaries didn't pay a dime for it. It was sponsored by First City Monument Bank (FCMB), one of the very prominent banks in Nigeria. Most of the facilitators are entrepreneurs who sacrificed their time and resources for the betterment of other Nigerian citizens.

SOCASEMP INITIATIVE is targeting to reach and train between 6,000 - 15,000 youths and women in Nigeria within the next 3 years and we are so glad that the just concluded program was successful and very impactful.

I want to use this medium to say a very big thank you to a very special Steemian @runicar, who sent in some fund support in SBD to me, for SOCASEMP INITIATIVE early in the year. We are so grateful and we love you so dearly.

Currently we have over 18,000 pictures/videos from the training program, which some of them will be rolled out soon, when our media colleagues are done with editing.

FINAL WORDS

I am glad to be back here on steemit and will do my best to remain active. Steemit is my home. I have made good friends and family here. I will be going to visit my farm in the North soon though 😀. I hope to make new friends and inspire many other people here.

Let me share some few pictures and moments that I was able to capture with my mobile device during the training program. 🙌

**PICTURE HIGHLIGHTS **

image
Some of the beneficiaries during the fitness challenge

image
This is me on duty at the just concluded SAYLET program

image
Cross section of some beneficiaries during one of our general assemblies at the SAYLET program

image
Some team members and facilitators

image
Some team members during a general assembly

image
The man is Dozie Okenwa, my best friend and the woman is Eunice Okoh, who is my sister, the founder of SOCASEMP INITIATIVE

image
My very special friend and great supporter of the Initiative, Victoria Abia, Head of Administration during one of our general assemblies

image
A selfie with some of the beneficiaries after the exhibition program on the 8th of September, 2018

Thanks for reading through my blog. Watch out for more reports. I am back. I remain your very special one, @jerryboy4luv

Cheers!! 🙌🙌

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jerryboy4luv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68