Events of the day before my 64th

in #life5 years ago (edited)

zsfxgvzi6t.jpg

Since I've decided I can't live in this tower/ghetto any longer,I've been seeking another apartment.
Kinda in a rush, because my Current lease is up on Oct 23d, and if they find out my disability Income has increased, they will want me to pay about $1,000 for my Tenth Floor 560 sq feet.
Not gonna happen
So after I went and put the $50 payment to process paperwork, I went to my friend Esther's house. She is very much into growing her Own food, both in her plot at the community garden (where I was grounds keeper at one time) and in her yard.
The top photo is my bounty from her yard; Eggplant, banana peppers, tomatoes, bell peppers, OKRA!!! and best of all, FRESH BASIL!!!
I love to smell basil. All that basil has been stripped of stems, leaves chopped and bagged and put in my freezer.
So my new apartment is in a small complex, two story buildings, each apartment opens to a breezeway, and each one has a small balcony, even those on the ground floor.
0yi3xg01yz.jpg
There on the right will be my apartment, if I am approved.
aoveyh14vf.jpg
The apartment buildings are arranged in a square, more or less, surrounding the pool (I've been in bad need of "hydro-therapy" for my hip) This is the view from my breezeway, across the pool toward the complex entrance onto the small street.
qljxijx8c1.jpg
Not much of a pool, but enough for me. I don't think it gets a whole lot of use.
m119m7ltdo.jpg

Finally, while at my friend Esther's house, I saw that the last of my poor "Norfolk Pines" was indeed still living.
She had thought that because it kept falling over it was dead.
This is the last survivor of four, that came to me in one pot, looking like one small Christmas Tree. Decorated.
After the holidays, when I took all the frills off, I saw that it
was actually 4 small trees.
Several years and several repottings later, I decided to try and
separate them.
I killed the first one, by improperly pulling it out.
As you can see, this one's roots all grew in a ball, so that
in a pot it has no way to be stable.
My niece is going to take it, put it in a pot and give it one last chance.
These trees are tropical, they have sap that smells exactly like pine tar, but they will NOT survive outdoors in a Georgia Winter.

Well, that was my day, how 'bout yours?

Events of the day before my 64th

by
Jerry E Smith
©8/8/2019
All images original



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


This .gif was created by @elgeko


Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @futuremind.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

So much luck with the new apartment!! It looks great.
I wish my building had a pool. Three, as far as I know, buildings on the block have one but they're all condos (so, owned) rather than apartments. I hear the kids every summer playing in the one that's closest to my balcony and on a hot day I'm like, maaaaaaaaan I want to join y'all. LOL
Really that tree won't survive Georgia? What kind of tree is it, do you know the species? I always think of Georgia as so warm.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49