Fumbling Toward Jesus: Praying For Restoration (Psalm 51:10)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life4 years ago


As the fallible sinners we are, we are in desperate need of restoration through the grace and mercy of our Father. This concept was one which David understood deeply. This chosen man of God was also a big ole sinner who made a ton of mistakes.

David had his best friend killed so he could get with his wife. I mean, he broke one of the Ten Commandments by literally coveting his best friend’s wife, and then he took it a step further by actually sending his friend to the frontlines of war in a situation he knew would assuredly eliminate his friend. Who was super devoted to David. It’s ugly. It was not good.

Additionally, I’ve been recently blown away at how much self-pity is expressed throughout the Psalms of David. The dude definitely knew how to have a pity party. He was a lot more like us as “regular people” than I even imagined. He’s more like me than I ever imagined.

In the past, I have struggled a lot with self-pity. It’s been something that I think I used as an excuse to use drugs. Sure, I’ve lived a lot of life and have endured some pretty sad and tough stuff...but after I shifted that focus away from myself and toward Jesus, I’ve really noticed how much healthier I feel in all ways. Self-pity is tough.

I pray regularly for restoration from my own history of self-pity, and seeing David’s expressions throughout the Psalms, I find it encouraging to see how God used a man such as David for Kingdom Purposes. It gives me encouragement that God is and will continue to use me, too. Even though I’m far from perfect, even though I get in my own head, even though I have been eaten up with sin in various parts of my life.


God’s grace covers a multitude of sin. God’s grace covers ALL sin. His mercy is overwhelming in the best ways.


Back to today’s scripture, another word for loyal in the NLT translation of the verse on the cover graphic could be “steadfast” and “unwavering”—a prayer David was totally on-point to make—he definitely knew what it was to be disloyal and wavering. We all should make this prayer. Oh, to be a consistent Christian!

We can totally use David’s example here in Psalm 51 today as a template for how we should pray, too. It’s a great prayer.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from Your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

Psalm 51:10

Of this scripture, Warren Wiersbe writes:

“David knew that the inner person—the heart—was the source of his trouble as well as the seat of his joy and blessing, and he was incapable of changing his own heart. Only God could work the miracle.”

God knows our hearts because He made our hearts. Today I’m asking God for a miracle in my own heart, and I challenge you to do the same. We ALL need the kind of restoration of heart that only He can deliver. Only HE is big enough to make it happen, and all we have to do is ask. <3



Consulted Sources:
Wiersbe, Warren. The Wiersbe Bible Commentary: Old Testament. p. 935. 2007, David C. Cook.


I am Jessamyn Orchard (@jessamynorchard), and I am a former youth pastor, worship minister, and church lay leader, who graduated from a Christian college. Most recently, however, I’m an addict in recovery who rededicated my life to Jesus about 6 months ago. I was raised in church, and saved at age 12, but I did a lot of straying over the past 10+ years, falling into pits of sin through addictions and self-pity. I’m no authority, just a believer in a big God and called to spread His word through as many conduits as present themselves to me. Fumbling Toward Jesus is a multi-media ministry campaign and includes a written blog of daily devotions on Steemit and an accompanying monthly podcast on Anchor.fm, and it represents years of study—both over the years and lately, and now combined with a whole load of human experience. I’m just a super nerdy sinner saved by a really awesome grace.


Do you need a Bible?
Download YouVersion Bible for iOS and Android: Benefits include multiple popular and hard-to-find translations, tons of Bible Study programs and Reading Plans by modern and historic scholars, built-in social media platform, and it’s FREE!
Download eSword Study Bible for PC: Benefits include extensive translations, commentaries, scholarly materials, customizable format, and more!

A Sinful Woman Forgiven Series:

Part I,Part II, Part III, Part IV

Keeing Negative Thoughts In Check (Philippians 4:8)

When Depression Strikes (1 Kings 19:5)

The Discipline of Darkness (Matthew 10:27)

Alt text



Unless otherwise noted, all scripture quotations are from The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved. Any bold or italics used in scripture quotation is of my own emphasis.
All stock photography is sourced exclusively from pexels.com, and is used with permission. All image collages, photo editing, text addition, and image alterations are original to me.


Thank you for reading Fumbling Toward Jesus on Steemit! Your comments, upvotes, resteems, and follows are graciously received and appreciated.


Alt text

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67