A christmas letter for Venezuela

in #life6 years ago

S5031051.JPG

Beautiful Venezuela,

I’m not a poet, and as much as I would be pleased to call myself a writer, I’m still trying to learn how to do it, how to write with my heart, but either way, I want to give you a small gift tonight…A Christmas letter, even when we are still days away from it.

I guess you didn’t saw that one coming my dear, but that’s the only present I can give you, and as much as I love you I can’t give you much else. I wish my words had a healing power to save you, to bring you joy, peace, wisdom and light, and not only for Christmas, but for a whole new year, for many years to come.

I remember when we first met, almost 26 years ago. You were so wonderful back then… I was just a baby when you held me with your sweet embrace, and you brought light to my eyes, a warm sensation to my skin, you were always so sunny and bright. That’s the feeling you shared with me and that’s what I wanted to share as well.

Venezuela, that’s a beautiful name for you. A special name. The little Venice who grew to be amazing, to do amazing things… Everything is meaningful when I’m with you. Even the colors that dress you are a symbol of freedom: yellow, because you are rich and your heart is made of gold, blue as the ocean and the sky, full of stars, and red for the blood of all of those who made you free, for the blood that runs through your veins… You are a real warrior, a survivor, and I know that everything is still there. All that magic and meaning and freedom, is still yours, and it will rise to the surface.

You were so beautiful to me, so happy, full of life… You were friendly and kind, helping everyone who needed you... You were there for me as much as you were there for millions… People from all over the world felt like home when they visited you, and they loved you so much that they stayed with you, but now everything changed.

Sometimes you share so much with someone that you start being like that person too. If she’s happy you are happy, if she’s sad you cry with her, like some sort of symbiotic relationship in which both are so happily connected in perfect sync. That’s how I felt about you, and I was just like you. But now you cry so much that I can’t do it anymore.

Someone really hurt you, I know, and then others joined as well, and now you are sick, you are hungry, you are famished, you are tired, angry and sad, and you cry everyday when some of your children die… And there are many more tears when some of your children simply walk away from you.

It’s amazing how much you get to meet someone and how much that someone can suddenly change, and those beautiful things that used to be part of their magic suddenly just fade into oblivion. But I know this is just a nightmare, just a phase. And everything that has been forgotten will be remembered. I know it in my heart.
I love you… Every single night I pray God and I always ask for the same: “please God, save her, save my Venezuela, she deserves to survive, she deserves to be free”.

This kind of sickness can only be healed with love and patience, and I gave you all I had for the moment. Now I need to heal too…But don’t be scared. I won’t stop loving you. I must leave you for now, but it doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop sending you my prayers and all the light from my heart. Light is what I have for you, and light is what you’ll get.

You have taught me so much over the years and I owe you so much. All these valuables lessons will be right here with me, no matter where I go, and I promise to share them with everyone I meet. I want everyone to know from you. I’m so proud of you!

I know I’m not the only one who wants you to heal. There’s millions like me who want the same miracle and we are asking for it, working for it, feeling it in our hearts… The miracle will happen. You will heal.

My heart will be yours till the end, no matter what and we’ll always be together…. Merry Christmas! May the lord bring you peace, blessings, prosperity and freedom… You will be free!

Jesus will be with you!
With love, Jessica.

S5030936.JPG

Sort:  

Such a tragedy what is happening in Venezuela. You letter shows your deep love and devotion for your country. I hope that the troubles will be in the past very shortly, and that freedom and prosperity will find you soon.

Thank you so much for such kind words and wishes. I'll never lose faith... I know my country will be free again. Venezuela will be wonderful again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64