Change Your Life by Invalidating Your Own Excuses…In 5 Minutes

in #life6 years ago

seaside-371229_1920.jpg

I’m guessing you’re probably a lot like me. You probably have several habits you want to implement. You have projects you want to start (or finish).

If you’re at all like me though, you frequently find that you do not have adequate time to dedicate to those pursuits. Alternatively, you may just forget. Also like me.

So, you end up with lots of good intentions but very little execution.

I can talk all day about what I mean to do, what I want to do or what I should have done. I usually have well thought-out reasons for those things and they always directly benefit me or someone I care about.

But our worlds are noisy, and something else is always competing for our attention.

Up till recently, I’d never had an effective method for implementing changes like this consistently.

I call my little system Zero Excuse Chunking.

Instead of setting out a time-bound routine or schedule - which I often find to be inflexible and seem easily derailed by unforeseen problems - I set out a series of important tasks or groups of tasks that I want to accomplish.

I then ask myself ‘What is the minimum amount of time I can dedicate to this and still advance toward my desired result? At what point can I no longer reasonably say, ‘I don’t have time for this?’

Once you know what your minimum effective dose is, and you know what amount of time effectively negates your own excuses, you can then begin easily injecting those new habits and routines into your daily life.

person-984236_1920.jpg

For most of the tasks and routines I want to implement, the minimum time required is about 5 minutes.

5 minutes! How do you not have 5 measly minutes to work on improving your life?

I spend a solid 10 minutes trying to recall which episode of Hawaii Five-0 I left off on.

5 minutes is cake.

Now, take 5 minutes and jot down 3-5 new habits or projects you want to pick up.

Have your list ready? Great.

At this point you’re almost ready to go. Now comes “chunking.”

I have a pretty terrible memory, so I find it helpful to establish constant elements of my day as triggers for me to spend 5 minutes on one of the items from my list.

I eat lunch every day, so lunch time is my reminder to spend 5 minutes meditating. It’s also my reminder to type out a few things I’m grateful for in the notes app on my phone.

I also use triggers like getting out of the shower after I get home from work, finishing dinner with my wife, or taking the dog outside. You could even use your triggers to remind you simply to look at your list, and then you can pick whichever task sounds good at the time!

Having my 5 minute tasks chunked together and linked to triggers that rarely change helps me to be more consistent. Whether I’m at work, at home, or on vacation I will always have triggers present for my new habits.

And since each habit only takes 5 minutes, I never have an excuse to skip a day.

Obviously, your minimum time may differ from mine. Your tasks and triggers will be different. Just ensure that the triggers will always be present (I.e. lunch, brushing your teeth, clocking out from work etc), and that you set aside such a minute amount of time that it is impossible not to have time for it.

Once you’ve invalidated all of your excuses, you’ll have no choice but to progress.

IMG_4964.JPG

Be sure to share your thoughts or experiences in the comments!

I'm still very much working on this system and am continually refining it. If you have ideas or thoughts on how to improve it, please share! And of course if you decide to give it a try, I would LOVE to hear how it works for you!

If this post helped you out, please be sure to upvote and re-steem this post so that others can read it too :)

Sort:  

This is a powerful tip. We have no excuses not to implement a 5-minute habit

Absolutely, and even in that short chunk of time I’ve found some tremendous value

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62