Tattoos, love and XKCD - A [buzzed] rant.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My friend says that the way I date women is like I’m standing on the edge of a cliff, overlooking a sea of women, and I see the first one making eye contact with me…

I throw myself off the cliff.

871279-bigthumbnail.jpg
1

Not exactly the best indictment of my judgement, but hilariously accurate in it’s description of me.

I’ve always fallen hard and fast, and am extremely loyal. Regularly putting my own needs in second place behind the women that I love.

I also, usually tend to ignore the major red flags and faults I might have seen on the walk down the canyon trail, had I not taken the shortcut over the edge of the cliff.

To continue the metaphor one last length, the climb back up the cliff face is usually excruciating, painful, and full of compromisingly bad lays.

Brown Bag 11.png
2

One of my favorite online comics is XKCD. The author, Russel Monroe, is a killer humorist, blindingly smart coder, and lover of all things math and science. His distinct stick figure style is witty, sarcastic, and full of the same hopeless romantic spirit I embody.

grownups.png
3

I’ve got quite a few tattoos and almost all of them are related in some way to literature or the arts. Some of them are reminders to myself to make me a better person. Some of them are warnings. Some of them are to inspire.

While thinking about my next one, I couldn’t help think about the most recent relationship of mine that was ending. She wants kids. I don’t. And while I’d love to tell myself that she changed her mind over time, I think it might have been obvious from the beginning if I hadn’t just run at her sexy ass with all terminal velocity speed I’m known for.

Anyway.

I was reading XKCD and thinking about things, and it occurred to me that it would be awesome to combine the joke my friend made about me, and this awesome style of comic.

So, I emailed the dude.

Nothing.

And then I hit him up on Facebook.

A few times.

And not surprisingly, nothing.

weekend-post_natalie-dee_apr-08.jpg
4

Then by complete coincidence I was having drinks with some friends, and a girl I barely know starts telling me that one of her skills is mimicking artists, or recreating styles. She showed me a couple different things, and she was awesome. So I told her my idea, and asked her what she thought.

And then she gave me this!!!!!

XKCD TATTOO.jpg

Pretty killer right?

So now I have my next tattoo, and hopefully a warning for the next time.

I did think about how I’m going to explain it to my next girl, but then I thought about how it applies to literally everything else I do.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you know that I’ve gotten myself into some pretty ridiculous situations producing low budget movies. I get asked to do projects, I throw myself at them, and I usually have to climb out of a fucking canyon to get them done.

25790865_10106010386843477_526444169849415442_o.jpg

This is the director (left) and producing partner (right) of the movie I’m on right now for example.

Probably a good lesson for the rest of my life as well.

Now the only thing left to do is nail the caption, and figure out where to put it. Any ideas?

Sort:  

You'll find your girl! Just got to go in with your eyes open!

Thanks. Here's hoping.

Hahaha that's funny man, I know exactly how you feel. She definitely got the style of the comic down.

Apparently this is what you find when you type "gernimooooo" into Google. So now you have to see what you caused, like I did.

3c98a95aa3bb2f1251369d247dff892d.jpg
1

I hate you.

You know you love me!

Your post reminded me of a funny quote I heard recently: "She has so many red flags, but the problem with red flags is that I'm a bull." I imagine that situation could make an awesome comic too. Best of luck with finding someone who prioritizes you as much as you prioritize her. I'm sure she will have been worth the wait and heartbreak

hahaha, great quote. I'm not that bad (I think), but I definitely get blinded by talent and attraction. But year you're right, that would be right up that comics alley... if it also included a joke about seg faults or neutron stars hahaha

The clown is your director!!??!! Talk about nightmares :)

Yeah, he's a funny one. It was a trip having him direct an ENTIRE shoot day like that. I'm sure I'll make a post about it, but here is him eating lunch with the crew hahahahaha.

2017-12-23 16.12.45.jpg

I can just see a PA going, "Excuse me, murder clown? They need you on set. We have a shot for sale."

He already, by nature, has a maniacal laugh. With the clown makeup, it was disturbing as fuck.

Gheeze That's definitely how I approach women and my relationships. I think its pretty interesting that you make reminders like that for yourself. I think its pretty cool. They're like tieing strings to your finger except they dont come off and they actualy help direct your life instead of remembering to get milk. haha

Thanks for sharing!

Glad you liked the post and thanks for reading. Yeah, one of mine says, "without the sour..." It's good to remember, that if shit didn't suck sometimes, you couldn't enjoy the good stuff.

That said, I thought I should probably get something could help me avoid the shit BEFORE it happens :)

oh for fuck's sake to all of this. seriously. I mean, just, yeah, congrats! DIVE OFF THE FUCKING CLIFF! LIFE AWAITS YOU. GO FUCKING GET IT. From what I hear....

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Congratulations @jhermanbeans! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

interesting and funny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55