The National Crafts Fair of Barranquitas.

in #life5 years ago

FERIA DE ARTESANIAS BARRANQUITAS NOTICEL JEBG 02 Cropped_1509485331705_9172189_ver1.0_1280_720 1.jpg
Source: Noticel

During the past weekend of July 12-14, the 58th edition of the National Craft Fair of Barranquitas was held.

The National Crafts Fair of Barranquitas is one of the two most recognized festivals in Barranquitas and the oldest of its kind in Puerto Rico. From its discreet beginning in 1959 until now, the exhibition of handicrafts has grown to bring 200 artisans or more and thousands of visitors during this weekend every year.

10543557_277037005821839_3126214522114823274_o.jpg
Source: Feria Nacional de Artesanias de Barranquitas/Facebook
National Crafts Fair of Barranquitas in its beginnings (1959).

artesanias hoy.jpg
Source: jangueandoenelwiken.com
Crafts Fair of Barranquitas 2019.

During this weekend, the town center becomes a market selling handicrafts and typical food of all kinds.

artesanias tu noticia pr.jpeg
Source: tunoticiapr.com

1735641242001_still_20120714_cultura_feriabarranquitas_glc.jpg
Source: primerahora.com

Feria de Artesanias.jpg
Source: youtube.com

bacalaito.jfif

In addition, a musical - cultural program is organized that attracts hundreds of people.


Source: Ibrahim Ortiz/youtube.com


Source: Ibrahim Ortiz/youtube.com


Source:Eric Morales/youtube.com

My intention was to go to the Fair to have a good time and take photos and videos to share here.

I could not.

My right foot and ankle was hurting so much that I could go. I was afraid that everything I had to walk there would make me worse. So I missed it this year.

I hope that next year I can go and share what happens when I'm there.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jiirizarry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Howdy sir jiirizarry! Very interesting indeed and it looks like a great times as well. What is wrong with your ankle and foot?

Hello Mr. janton! I developed Charcot foot syndrome due to diabetes and diabetic neuropathy. It weakens the muscles in the area which can cause the bones to deform, fracture, or break. I ended up with several fractures in the foot and ankle. I now have a hardware stores supply of screws and rods in the right leg and I have to use a crow boot for life.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh no! ouch, that all sounds very painful! Do you have to take medication for the pain too? What is a crow boot?

It is. I can take pain medication when needed but I usually just bear with it and try to move the least possible when it flares up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, I see. That looks like it would be really hot in the summer!

Ok, I see. That
Looks like it would be really
Hot in the summer!

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Because you don't want to get addicted to the pain medication?

Because you don't want
To get addicted to the
Pain medication?

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81