TAKE A HIKE (pt. 2)

in #life7 years ago

You guys remember my story about hiking up a mountain with my dad? Well...we went hiking again. It's kind of our thing. This time, we went with my boyfriend (Cody) and we traveled through bamboo forests, swam in waterfalls, and swung off of a rope swing. It is a bit different of a landscape than Mount Tallac.

I didn't have my phone with me, but Cody had his GoPro and captured a good photo of us.
You can just make out the waterfall in the back.

I love having family here on Maui to visit. They can escape their busy lifestyles on the mainland, and I get to be a part of their uniques experiences around Maui. This morning, I went to an AA meeting with my dad. The program has worked really well for him because he completely immerses himself in it. I've been to meetings before, but not often. I like to go in support of my dad. Today we talked about patience and tolerance.

I am really thankful that I was granted patience through my dads process of becoming sober. For those of us who aren't alcoholics, it is really easy to say, "Well if you spiral out of control when you drink, then just stop drinking!" Alcoholics can't just "stop drinking." Alcoholics constantly have a voice in their head, tempting them, because believe it of not, alcoholics actually enjoy the effects of alcohol. They actually crave that sensation of being drunk. What I learned today is that everyday, alcoholics have a choice to make: drink, or don't drink. I kind of think it's like getting ready to hike Mount Tallac everyday. You get up, see this challenging looming mountain in front of you, and you just want it to be over. You just want to get to the top. Well it doesn't happen like that. You have to work, be patient, and try to enjoy the process. It takes mental and physical stability everyday to stay sober. Imagine the patience and tolerance you would have to develop to stay away from something you're addicted to or obsessed with. Whether it's coffee, drugs, sugar, whatever! If you want to change your life, you have to accept that it will take more patience and tolerance to develop routine and not react to little things that make you upset.


Today, I am thankful for my dad. Thankful that he got healthy to make amends with me. Thankful that we get to hike together, laugh together, and talk about life. He gives great advice.


What are you thankful for today?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66