Everything changed when...

in #life5 years ago

This phrase has been ruminating for the past few days. Yes, I've been in a reflective mode that feels warm and positive, as my journey continues.

IMG_0276.JPG

From whence I came there resides numerous events / moments wherein my life trajectory shifted in a significant way. I'm sensing / believing that the next leap is nigh.

Everything changed when...

In 1985, I met the woman who would become my wife & partner (and sometimes adversary) for 15 years. I'm sad to report that we parted ways, and glad to say that we remain connected, communicative and committed to...

My children, who arrived onto the planet in 1990, 1991, 1994 and 1995.
July of '90 my daughter R came a knockin' and I was so glad to launch into fatherhood as a sober man.
December of '91 sweet C said HERE I AM on new years eve, no less!
May of 1994 my boy Henry arrived and left in the same moment. Henry James was born still, and forever he resides in my heart.
September of '95 the young master C took his place on the planet. I'm honored to be his guide.

Of greatest import and impact, EVERYTHING CHANGED in February of 1989. I finally had achieved a bottom and faced my addictions to drugs and alcohol. Proud to state, absolutely humbled by, my reality that I'm a sober man. Upcoming in a few weeks is a major anniversary of 30 years of continuous sobriety.

IMG_0708.JPG

BOOM-SHACKA-LACKA-LACKA!!!

I'll end here, only because I prefer to keep posts on the shorter side (to ensure you make it all the way to the end :-)).

Safe to state that every human, including myself, has hundreds, if not thousands, of life moments large and small, where EVERYTHING CHANGED WHEN...

We each have a story to tell, yet not everyone chooses to tell theirs. I choose otherwise, and hope to raise awareness, to uplift, to make laugh (or cry, or ponder) what it means to be human. Here. Now.

Everything changed when...

Peace and smiles

Sort:  

Thanks for this; but I have to say that I'm still waiting

I know the feeling of waiting, wondering. Every once in a while I have to ask aloud, "what the fuck could possibly be next?" For me, I'm easy breezy when on the beam. Other days, it's a challenge to remain calm. Such is my life as a journeyman...

What a highlight for all the stories you have to share. I hope to read more and more of them.

Hi @juliamulcahy,

Thanks so much! I'm crafting Part Deux of "Everything Changed When..." now!

Peace and smiles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75