You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Native Tribes Defending the Cultural Context for Food

in #life6 years ago

Akin to "free range" minimum requirements, one of my USDA faves has to do with "natural flavors" that are part of the ingredients lists of SO MANY commercially produced/sold foods! What the heck is this natural flavor that cannot stand alone as an ingredient??

I would very much enjoy increased access to traditionally prepared foods. I agree with @trucklife-family and @indigoocean that the opportunity to strengthen our immune systems may be one of many positive results. I love the tradition described in the article re: the story behind that ear of corn; the spirit energy afloat in my squash soup. Yum to my heart and Soul!

An even stronger motivation is economic. If/when my dollars are spent within a community that I care for deeply, a community I wish to support and see thrive, then I will ALWAYS point those $$ in that direction.
The beauty of mutual benefit: confidence that my health and Soul Energy will improve while I also deliver an economic benefit to the Native / traditional producer.

Sort:  

So true. I would definitely rather support tribal farmers than major factory farms. (I've also always been suspicious of those "natural flavors.")

And then, howsabout them "artificial flavors?" Ah, the curse of reading food labels and ingredient lists! Oh well, live and learn AND learn to live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67488.06
ETH 3761.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56