THE MAN SAID FILL UP A BLACK BAG FOR £1, SO I DID WITH "MOORCROFT" PLATES.

in #life7 years ago

I usually avoid Car Boot Sellers who have umpteen boxes, each containing a muddled collection of goods, that are mucky. broken or incomplete, with the contents spilling out on to the ground. It shows a lack of effort and a non caring attitude, with no pride in the goods for sale.

However on this occasion I was drawn to a powder blue plate poking out from the top of one of the boxes. On closer inspection there were at least a ten more big and small plates, plus a dish. As I carefully inspected them the man was shouting "fill up a bag for a £1". I turned each plate over and every one of them had an impression, but none very clear. However the more I looked the more I thought that the word impressed said "Moorcroft". It made sense as I knew that Moorcroft had produced "everyday" plates in powder blue. These weren't really anything special, but such was, or is, the popularity of the beautiful tube lined pieces of decorated Moorcroft that just the name commands a good price. Some of these pieces I was inspecting looked a little tired, but none were chipped or cracked.

I put them in the black bag proffered, and paid my £1 with the intention of researching them, and looking at them more carefully when I got home. After all, the most I would loose was a £1. A later more careful inspection confirmed that the impression did in fact say "Moorcroft"!!!

005.JPG

Whilst it was a little while ago, from recollection, I sold them on for between £50 and £60 !!!

Sort:  

very interesting! i'm a book collector myself

Hi cainplant. I've found a few nice old books in the past. I find I'm drawn more to children's books , though, particularly vintage Ladybird books. Part of the blog I wrote two weeks ago included a paragraph about them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 68014.29
ETH 3541.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16