You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Personal - Cringeworthy Moments: We have all been there... (Haven't We?)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the smiles and the sharing lol so I'll put myself out there and give you one back. I've told a few people about this, but not many... I was sixteen years old, and getting ready for a boy to pick me up for a date, so all kinds of nervous as well. It's only my dad and I home, and he was asleep in his room at the end of the house. I was in the shower, thinking I had plenty of time - when the doorbell rang. My first thought was that either I was very late or my date had showed up early. My second was that I hadn't said anything to my father that I was expecting someone yet, and there was no one else to answer the door. In a panic, I jumped out of the shower with soap all over me still, threw a big towel around me, and raced out the bathroom door. Down the TILED hallway toward my father's room... Needless to say - as I'm sure anyone reading this could predict - moving full tilt, my feet slipped out from under me before I could reach my dad's door. It was an 'oh god save me' moment the instant I felt myself start slipping. I slid the last ten feet down the hall, towel flying, to crash upside-down in a heap on the floor up against the hall linen closet - right in front of my father's open door. All I caught was a brief glimpse of my father's very shocked and confused face as I snagged my towel around me and skittered out of sight, and the words 'What ARE you doing?' following behind me. Decently covered, if beet red and completely mortified, I stepped (carefully) back to my dad's door and stammered that someone was at the front door, and that I was expecting so-and-so, and I wasn't dressed.
I escaped back to the bathroom, my father still frowning at me with some concern, and he went to answer the door. It was the postman.
Almost thirty years later, I've had many more embarrassing moments, but this one always stands foremost. I hope I never top it :)

Sort:  

That one certainly gave me a chuckle. I can see why it is really memorable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75