You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stigma is a Locked Door: Being Honest About Mental Illness

in #life6 years ago

My favorite part is how you say the best thing to offer is compassion. I've been withpeople with depression but had to suck in my Rage, knowing compassion Wonks gives me hope in the future to not offend. Thank you for you honesty and sharing! keep on Keeping on.

Sort:  

I think there is no situation in which compassion doesn't help. @raymondspeaks has a great video on how we can be supporting of those we know with mental illness. I hope he'll link it here. An honestly stated, "That sounds really hard" is almost always helpful as it validates, allows the person to know they are heard, and shows caring. Getting angry is very natural, especially when dealing with someone who insists there are only problems and no solutions. I like to offer, in those cases, statements such as "if you'd like to brainstorm some solutions, let me know" and, when I'm overwhelmed myself, "It's really hard for me to hear this right now. Could we revisit this subject later?"

I love that you are thinking about how not to offend. That in itself is compassionate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67666.95
ETH 3775.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55