You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Offline Weekend

in #life5 years ago

I have a friend who is a mechanical engineer, he has worked all his career in the oil field. He is brilliant, a genius ... literally.

He is the most intelligent person I have ever met. To give you an idea, once I saw him explaining by telephone to his university daughter how to solve a mathematical equation of integrals, functions and limits to infinity. He solved the equation mentally, without using a pen or paper.

He is also a person addicted to technology. Your phone has become an extension of your body.

Once, his wife surprised him with a weekend trip together to some cabins in the mountains. But she did not say anything to him: in that place there is no telephone coverage, nor television, nor internet.

The despair was such that they had to interrupt the stay. He could not stand it.

I am a supporter of making spiritual retreats eventually. This connects us with ourselves and with God.

Sort:  

Wow - this is quite a story. I am sure your friend has his reasons, perhaps he was right in the middle of some important communication processes and could not properly prepare for being offline. Its definitely easier when announced and prepared.

Greetings friend @mariusfebruary.
That trip was his wife's idea. She thought that he could disconnect for a couple of days and relax. But the technological dependence was more powerful.

I particularly love those opportunities. I have gone hiking in the mountains and I have been able to appreciate the "total silence". The first time I was silent it was disturbing, I could not commune with this. Then I managed to assimilate that peace. Playing my guitar there is a sublime experience.

Currently where I live in the city, there is a sonic pollution that is reaching levels that threaten health. For example, when I'm going to create my music, I have to do it in the early hours when there is less vehicular traffic.

In summary, it will always be beneficial to be in contact with nature away from so much electronic device. It's like going back to the roots.

A hug for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81