Dilemma

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I walked in to the Hall, scared and all jittery.
Would they notice it? It wasn't my fault anyway.
I had just been dropped at the venue. It was the front of an hotel as expected. Beautiful, well designed and locally decorated with a local cuisine just in front. Before I could turn from paying off the Bike rider, I got a smoosh smash splash on my face and whole body.
"I'm sorry ma, I didn't know you were there" Came the words from a grumpy looking short and somewhat dirty woman. Her hair was unkempt and her legs were as though she hadn't had a bath in years.
The bowl on her hands were now empty, after she had emptied them on my white long dress.

I immediately lost confidence, going back would take another one hour and before I would return, I would be late for the slated interview which seemed like my last hope on getting a job. Heaven knows how hard it have worked to even get a slot to be interviewed 😢
Looking at how tattered the woman looked, I don't think I would even be able to wear any of her wears.

She kept apologizing and I was fixated, crying wouldn't help so I held still instead. This is the work of the devil, I said to myself as I walked after her following her very fragile graze as she led me to a tap where I could wash off the dirt off my face and body.
The mixture of Ogbono, Egusi and Bitter leaf soup on my body made me almost want to eat up my shirt as I had left home hungry.
I tried as much as possible to wash off the stain from my body but the stench remained.
I was hurt, angry and embarrassed but I walked in still into the Hall with heads bowed down like I had committed a big crime.
As I got in, I saw about 6 other persons who were obviously there for the same reason as me all fixing their gaze on me.
They would probably have thought me to be a mad man like the man at the gate did until I explained my ordeal to him.
I could feel the mirage of questions going through their mind but I didn't care.
All that mattered to me was how to convince the interviewers how the Eba I had supposedly eaten had danced all the way to my shirt making headline news already.

image
Source

Sort:  

I read a true story once where a guy had the exact same experience. He got the job. You know why?

The interviewers were awed at his confidence to still come in despite been stained and all. A lot would have gone back home.

It takes a lot of guts to still proceed for an interview when you know you are far, far below your best.

Thumps up to the person in this write-up too, Juliet.

Yeah. The confidence really plays a pivotal role in me giving her the job or not(if I'm the interviewer).
I would listen attentively to the story of how it happened and reason with the person involved and judge based on the fact that I'm human too.
It could happen to anyone.

Well, i don't know if she got the job or not.
Let's hope.
Thanks for stopping by and sharing that story

Yea, I would too. It was a pleasure doing so.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Haaaaaaa continue the story ooo

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol
Okay o
😍

Oh my my! this can't be me, i will definitely return back home.

Hahaha
Then you risk not getting the job

Ehn, let me risk it oo. What if the interviewers are not the understanding and patient types? Then I risk being embarrass the more.

Hahaha.
You must be one very shy dude o.
Have you read the next part to see what happened.?

Posted using Partiko Android

I can be really shy. I haven't read it oo, let me goan read it

Hi @julietisrael!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.945 which ranks you at #10471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 69 places in the last three days (old rank 10540).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80