What is the happiest you have ever felt for a stranger?

in #life5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

Recently, I called a friend and whilst we were talking, I could sense a kind of uneasiness in his voice. I asked what was wrong but he innocently said it was nothing. I have known this friend for quite a while and I could tell if he was fine or not. I challenged him for lying to me and he was like, he wouldn't want to bother me with his challenges.

I insisted and he narrated the issue of a friend to me. This his friend was in his final year in the University and only needed a certain amount of money to pay up his fees else he would be forfeiting that year. Now, his friend didn't have sufficient funds to pay up the bills and had resorted to seeking assistance from my friend. But unfortunately, his account had been blocked and couldn't make the transfer to him. The worse was that, the deadline was the exact day we were talking and if he didn't pay up that day, it would mean an extra year for his friend. All efforts to raise the money elsewhere proved abortive and he was devastated.

I was moved with compassion and asked if I could help out. He declined at first because he didn't want to feel obligated. They have both resorted to having an extra year. I was touched. I couldn't imagine him having an extra year just because of finance. Even though I didn't know this his friend, I couldn't help but be concerned. I insisted hence on helping out and he appreciated. I transferred the money to the guy in school and he was able to pay up his fees. 

The following day, my friend called me to say thank you. He said his friend was overwhelmed and was even crying and had asked him to thank me. That even when I didn't know him, I was happy to help out. I was so happy to hear this. Happy that my little effort was appreciated and mattered a lot for someone. This made me really happy. And to think that I do not even know this guy in question is really amazing.

P.S: This happened just 3 days ago and I'm still happy about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98