You have 30 seconds to say something to stop someone who's about to jump off a cliff. What would you say?

in #life5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

"That's not shallow enough, you wouldn't die", I said to the man who was willing to jump off the cliff. He turned and looked at me. Do you really want to die? Then you may not die if you jump right over that place. The last time I jumped right off that cliff, I was able to stay alive until the rescue team came and got me out. So you see, you really may not be able to achieve your dream if you jump right off that cliff. I think you need to find a better location to jump so you can peacefully die.

My first statement alone is enough to stop anyone in his tracks who is trying to kill himself. He would expect me to be sympathetic and seeing that I'm not, he would relax, listen to me give him tips on dying faster and peacefully. 

By the time I'm done making the second statement, I'm pretty sure he would have withdrawn his decision to jump off and in his mind, making other plans for a good location.

It is at this time that I will talk to him about why he shouldn't die compared to why he wants to die. I'm a very good motivational speaker and I am quite sure that if I can stop anyone in his tracks from killing himself, then I can as well talk him out of it entirely.

Sort:  

I will say the only word I know that has been saving souls from time immemorial : Jesus Loves you.

I'll explain to him that (if he still have the time) he has a role to play in life and he shouldn't because of what is happening kill himself. He shouldn't leave "void" his fulfilment in life.

Praying in my heart too as I sat each word, suicide is a spiritual depression.

Posted using Partiko Android

You jump, I jump, but you can safe me by waiting little time let's talk..... I'm sure you don't wanna kill me but yourself..... I can help you

Hi @julietisrael!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.477 which ranks you at #6520 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 29 places in the last three days (old rank 6491).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #190.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10