The first day of winter

in #life6 years ago

It's the 1st of June, a day we here in the Southern hemisphere often refer to as the first day of winter!


Image credit

Most people would associate winter with cold and snow, but here in Sunny South Africa, more particularly inland, we associate winter with crystal blue skies, warm sun (when you're in it!) and plenty of braais.

Sure it's cold in the mornings, and evenings! In the morning, fog and mist for kilometers, frost on the grass and steam from your hot breath as you exhale in the cold air, but by 9am the frost has dried up, the fog has dissipated and the warmth from the direct sunlight is inspiring!

I remember as a child, lying in front of the window where the sun rays warmed the carpet. I would lie there for an hour at least, the sun on my face, thinking "it doesn't get better than this". I'm in my twenties now and I'll still do that!

There's something about winters in Johannesburg. Not pretty by postcard standards, but its beautiful in its own distinct way.

Although I'm definitely a summer person, I find winter brings a whole new appreciation of life to the table. Summer sun makes us hot and sweaty and we complain about the heat, but sunshine in winter warms your soul, and you take in every second before the evening cold sets in. I've always believed the saying "soaking up the sun" came about during the winter months, not in the summers.

How do you enjoy your winters?

Sort:  

Best time of the year May to August especially living on the coast.

Growing up I remember winters on the highveld, your bones thaw out around 10 am and the cool sweeps in again around 3 pm.

Frost on the lawn some mornings looked like snow, except when it was a black frost killing just about everything in the garden.

When you are on the east coast, Id say. I am not a fan of cape winter rain. Frost is a killer to plants hey. I remember it being colder when I was little, now, not so much. I love the dry grass, it looks like real Africa.

Comfort eating and becoming a hermit.... I am generally MUCH happier in autumn and spring. Temperate weather is the best. Summer is too hot, and winter too cold.

Haha who has time for vegetating these days! It's an enjoyable thing to do haha. I think we need the extremities to enjoy the mild!

I am an outdoors man (even in the city suburbs) and winter is also one of my favorite seasons! Yesterday we had a huge cloudy rainbelt passing over and of course it was time to take some great photos! The residents here in our complex call me the crazy man with the camera, as I am outside in any weather! A great post here! Blessings and upvoted!

but sunshine in winter warms your soul, and you take in every second before the evening cold sets in.
I like what you say here, never thought of it that way but it is fitting.
I used to live in Bloemfontein and one evening I was so cold that I started to cry and I was in my 40's. I hate the cold. But nowadays living here on the South Coast of Kwazulu-Natal, winter is not cold. We swam today on the first day of winter!
Thank you for sharing!

I always boast about South African winters @jvanman, and Durban winters even more...not Durban summers though...so I'm a winter person for sure! Lovely post and can you believe it's winter already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98