All the buzz around yerba mate…

in #life6 years ago (edited)

All the buzz around yerba mate…

Dear Steemians,

What is one of the first things you do in the morning? If the answer is “Drinking a coffee! Obviously” this post is for you.

mate-2378768_1280.jpg
source

DSC01626 (Copy).JPG

my experience?

During my #solotravel in #Argentina I was #couchsurfing, which enabled me to live with Argentinians (thus avoid staying with tourists;)). I could understand what Yerba mate is and how important it is to their culture.

DSC01621 (Copy) podpis.jpg

Matero_en_Posadas (Copy).jpg
Matero, a statue (three meters high, made by local artist Gerónimo Rodríguez) of a man preparing to drink yerba mate infusion, in Posadas, Misiones, Argentina.

Museo_Histórico_de_Buenos_Aires_Cornelio_de_Saavedra_(mate) (Copy).jpg
Ornate yerba mate gourd, the Saavedra Historical Museum, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Yerba mate is traditionally consumed in South America, mostly in Paraguay, Argentina, Uruguay, southern and central-western Brazil, some parts of Bolivia and Chile.

It is said that yerba mate has the strength of coffee, the health benefits of tea and provide the joy of chocolate. I particularly like the last comparison. :)

Its history is pretty impressive. Initially, it was consumed by the Indigenous tribes of South America. In XVI century, along with the conquest of the continent, Europeans “discovered” the Guaraní Tribe of Paraná from today’s Northern Argentina and Tupi People of Southern Brazil. A bizarre herb used by them was yerba mate, and it was an essential part of their culture. As is gained popularity among new settlers, in 1616 mate was banned by Jesuits as they thought it was a demonic drink that led to addiction. By the end of XVIII century, yerba mate was a well-established good exported to Europe, where it was consumed by members of high society and gained its popularity! Sadly, the history of the indigenous tribe ends tragically (as well as the history of the whole continent who was covered with indigenous people’s blood, soon on my blog) - Guaraní civilisation was uprooted. Although yerba mate continued to be present on the markets, at the end of XIX century it was eclipsed by better-marketed coffee and tea industry.
Not so long ago yerba mate regained its global interest.

Pope_Francis_with_Cristina_Fernandez_de_Kirchner_4 (Copy).jpg
source

It is said that consuming yerba mate comes with health benefits.

• It is rich in antioxidants (around 90% more than green tea!): therefore, it can slow the signs of aging, detoxify the blood and may! prevent many types of cancer.
• May help reduce stress and insomnia.
• As it contains caffeine, it increases your energy level, clarity and mental focus
• It doesn't cause side effects associated with consuming caffeine, such as headaches, stomach aches, and jitters.
• It may help you in reducing appetite, boosting metabolism and increasing the amount of fat burned for fuel.
However, as I dived into this topic I got the impression that in general there are still a lot of studies that need to be presented to the public.

The importance of the ritual!

Yes, I am a fan of rituals! There is nothing like picnicking with your friends, sharing food and beverage. It may seem strange at first, but hey, just give it a try! After all, when you travel, a participation in a common social practices can only enrich you, right?

The beverage is prepared by filling your mate (a special kind of a vessel) up to three-quarters full with mate plant, and then filling it up with hot but not boiling water (70–80 °C /158–176 °F). Ahhh, important – never stir!
Now all you do is drink it with a metal straw (called bombilla), then refill the water, pass to the next person. And enjoy! :)

And how about you?
* Do you have any thoughts about drinking yerba mate (or coffee)?
* Do you like the idea of sharing your drink with others or you find it disturbing?

Besitos!
Kasia

Sort:  

I really like coffe , but with this post you have convinced me to transform my feeding way xD I ll try It , thak you for this post @k-a-s-i-a

pleasure is mine @venela :)

I just purchased a Yurba Mate Gourd (http://amzn.to/2ClzlJk) and some Yurba Mate Tea (http://amzn.to/2CmVB2W) on Amazon! Been hearing a lot about it and your post motivated me to finally invest in some!

@austinhopper happy to hear that! please let me know if you're satisfied with the purchase! :)

Wow..I have been drinking yerba mate for almost 20 years and really had no idea about its rich and interesting history. Thanks for the education. I like to drink it with carob, soy milk and honey. Its one of my favorite teas for sure but I usually drink matcha as a daily morning thing. Now that I have read your post that might change.

Dear @mauisunrise, and i always drink it plain. Maybe it's time to experiment? thank you for your comment :)

Is the mate recipient and bombilla necessary for the preparation of the drink? Or is it more for ceremony and any glass and straw combo could work just as well?
definitely want to try it!

The thing is - there is only one "vessel" and one straw needed :) After a few sips you just pass it to another person (it need to be refilled with water obviously). If non of your friend has it, you can use any mate, but the bombilla is pretty necessary as the herbs inside can be really tiny. enjoy!:)

thanks for your reply! I'll give it a ry!

:) let's spread the love for it together ;)

I love Yerba Mate. I don't know why I've stopped making it at home. Thanks for the reminder! It actually works better than coffee for me. It's less acidic in my opinion. However, I love coffee too. I can have decaf and be ok, I just really love the taste. Tea and coffee are two things I can't live without. Thanks for the post!

thank you for your comment! :) I love coffee as well! well, coffee and something sweet, i must be both;)

I love it too, I can totally live off of coffee, tea and baked goods. I wish it could be more nutritious, I would have no need for food haha

Looks great, definitely have to try it soon! thanks

I hope u'll enjoy it :D

There was the time when I was drinking a lot of Yerba. After few voices that it contains some carcinogenic agents, I stoped drink. Despite this wish You luck :)

Dear Aga, thank you for your comment! Good luck to you too! :)

Man what exactly do you do on steemit to have such kind of upvote. Please let me know more.

Good luck mpalanyi! :)

Awesome! Love yerba mate!

Yeah!:) How often do you drink it during a day?:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77