KasiaRecommends: Seasonal Jobs. Tips on Why? Where? How?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

Today I want to concentrate on giving you simple tips on how to earn a “significant” amount of money during a short period of time – like during holiday time. I put the word significant into quotation mark on purpose. What is significant to me will not necessarily be significant to you. All depends on your background and context.

No matter what your goal is: to travel/buy a moto/ do an expensive certificate (like becoming a paragliding teacher, why not?:)), you R E A L L Y can make it happen.

To whom?

4.jpg
source

This post is directed mostly to students and people without personal attachments. Yes, no doubts the idea of doing seasonal jobs is easier for people who do not have children to raise and therefore can devote their time only to their goal.
So if you have no serious personal obligations and you can commit yourself to 2-3 months of working abroad, you should definitely try.
I can and I do only talk about my experience. I am Polish and, as a consequence, a European Union (EU) citizen. It is easy for me to travel and work within EU.
But Steemit gathers people from all around the world! I cannot help much here as I don’t know the situation in remote destinations. Nonetheless, I can only assume, that there is a country/region wealthier than yours and within the reach and thus you can act analogically.

What?

2.jpg
source

In this post, I am writing about possibilities of doing so-called seasonal jobs. What does it mean to me? You can pick up the fruits (like grapes in France, strawberries in Norway etc.). You can also work as a waiter/waitress in the Nordic countries or in the United Kingdom – places that offer not only higher wages, but also tips. And this is crucial for earning more than average. If you are polite, do the job correctly etc. the clients will reward you with a tip, something that is not necessarily “common” in countries like France or Italy.

During my studies at the University, I was working as a waitress in Poland and in France.

3.jpg
source

You can also try what I did later. For 3 months I was working as a stewardess on a private yacht cruising in the Mediterranean Sea. It is a great job because you don’t pay for rent and for meals (you live on the boat!). But… I was working 17 h a day (from 7 am to 24). I was: serving cocktails or meals/doing laundry/cleaning toilets! In my free time, I was also babysitting (for free) 2 beautiful girls, owner’s daughters, because they simply liked me too much. I was constantly tired. But I had my goal.

Where??

1.jpg
source

There are countries that offer high minimum wages even for the basic jobs. Not every well-developed country is a good example. For instance, working in gastronomy in Spain or France will not be too profitable. So my suggestion would be to choose countries like United Kingdom, Denmark, Norway, Switzerland, maybe Germany. If you want to try working as a steward/stewardess – go to places with well-developed marinas, like in South of France, and North of Italy.

How?

5.jpg
source

You can work your ass off but if you keep spending the money you have earned so hard, it will never make sense and will only leave you with disappointment.
You have to keep your expenses at a minimum level. What does it mean in practice? If you have to rent an accommodation - make sure to rent a room in a shared apartment or maybe consider sharing a room. Bear in mind that it will just be for a short period of time. In the end, you will probably spend most of your time at work anyway. In most countries accommodation is often a significant expense. Prepare the food for yourself and shop in discount supermarkets. Don’t go out to restaurants or bars in order to reward yourself for your hard work! After all, your goal (travel, purchase, certificate etc.) will be your reward, right? Stay strong and focused on what really matters! ;) Maybe your will is stronger than you have expected? :)

I really believe that if you want something badly, you will move mountains to reach it. But if you don’t, you will only find excuses.

Sending joy,
Kasia

Sort:  

am always to ideas of making extra money and the fact that am still a student all the more makes my efforts worthwhile. I like your suggestions and I would love to make the journey to Europe and make that extra dough.

I really am open to suggestions but I want to tell you one thing. Tell me if you concentrate on seasonal job to earn some money would it not affect the long term goals . And besides earning money from here and there it can drive you away from your respective fields. I mean this is a possibility. So what are your views about this ? @k-a-s-i-a

If you are working on your long-term goals i.e. u r studying/making courses/doing internships/working, the seasonal job will not make your efforts disappear. I am talking about the situations when you need/want to earn money in 2-3 months and can fully commit yourself to it.

Before coming to Europe though please read what is necessary in order to work here legally. we don't want you to get into trouble:)

yes, i totally agree with you @k-a-s-i-a. I engage in seasonal farming as a means of adding value to my spare time. This also is a money spinner for me from sales of my produces.

thanks for sharing your example! :)

"For 3 months I was working as a stewardess on a private yacht cruising in the Mediterranean Sea."

Wow! I bet this job was a real experience. Even though you worked 17 hour days, I'm sure it was definitely worth your while. It seems like you have all kinds of work experience traveling abroad and working!

Jobs that are given the opportunity to receive tips are great. These jobs usually bring home a higher than average pay. In more expensive and fancy places, waiters and waitresses bring home a very healthy amount of money.

exactly! I was surprised how much i could earn as a waitress thanks to the tips! But surely this is not a kind of job for everyone.

I had great luck teaching and tutoring students English in France and Argentina. Tutoring is great because you have a lot of control over your schedule, and you get to make a nice personal connection. The most important thing is your ability to network your way to clients that value your service and will pay you well for it. I found myself doing English language babysitting the kids of diplomats and teaching university professors, which is why it worked for me. Audience is key!

wow, i'm impressed. I know an English teacher in Argentina, but she decided to quit because she wasn't paid enough. And where are you at the moment?:)

Now I live in California :) Not teaching any more, but every day is an adventure regardless!

:) enjoy sunny California :)

I really appreciate your post. Setting goals and then taking the steps to achieve them can be so satisfying, both financially and mentally. You have made some amazing memories. Thank you!

thanks for this important comment!

These are some good tips and ideas...working on a yacht sounds like fun, havent done that (yet)
I would also add working in a hostel. It's great if you can get it, you have accomodation, usually food or at least breakfast and some money while you stay in a place where travellers from all over the world come and go.

working in a hostel is great, but i wouldn't consider it as a way to earn good money in a short period of time :)

This is very awesome.
you look as a very hard working girl.
I believe I am a lazy ass girl and during holidays I sleep more than I wake up lool

hahah, yes , when i'm committed i get super hardworking. But i like to be lazy from time to time, no harm in that :)

continue it's very interesting !!

thank you!

@team-solutions has re-steemed and up-voted this post.

What a wonderful sure line to alleviate oneself above poverty level....i love the idea.

not always simple at first, but one has to be persistent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64