NW Washington: Sunny Rain

in #life6 years ago

NW Washigton is known for being rainy and dreary... often. Very often. Olympia, the capitol and my current city of residence, gets about 50 inches of rain per year; that's 10 more than the U.S. average.

IMG_3322.JPG

On some days, an immense gray cloud will roll through on a sunny day, and rain will pour in the sunshine. I took this photo a couple of days ago; I don't know how well you can see it, but it was raining pretty good:

IMG_3316.JPG

I love this unique feature of our climate here. I remember one time as a kid realizing that it looked dark and gloomy out our front living room window while it was clear as day in our backyard. That was in Bellingham, which is just 3 hours north of here. I know our neighbors in Oregon get this odd weather as well.

IMG_3318.JPG

I've seen it be sunny, rainy, hailing, and then back to clear skies within 2 hours. You just never know!

Does your city get weird weather phenomena? Leave a comment!

Thanks for stopping by! <3

IMG_3257.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01