You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fear and the Denial of Birthright

in #life6 years ago

My parents brought us up speaking in English too. My mum only scolded us in her mother tongue, because I guess it came naturally to her when she was angry with us.
I have had many comments when people find out I can't speak my own language. I understand, I speak enough if I absolutely have to, but you can immediately tell I am a "traitor" to my mother tongue.
People think it is a waste that I am not passing on the language to my kids, and I feel it too. But here I am, looking like one, eating like one, but not quite speaking like one.
I think it is a fantastic idea you are connecting through food.
Thank you for sharing so much of your life <3

Sort:  

I feel this comment very deeply. I'm sorry you have the "traitor" experience. Do you wish to connect to your ancestral language in any way?

Your question really made me think.
I feel only as a language to communicate. Not exactly sentimental about it. Could also be because the race has a negative association (I am Indian, 3rd generation in Malaysia)
(I went back and forth with whether I wanted to post this reply... but you opened up, so it's only fair I am honest too)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62539.74
ETH 3201.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81